We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Duxiana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Duxiana to your Saves list
Hotel Duxiana
Sankt Petri Kyrkogata 7, Lund 222 21, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Lund
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Basic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this hotel and the best thing about it is the receptionist, Katerina, and the location.
The rooms are dismal, small, cramped, very basic......be prepared to be snug if you have a booking here!
Breakfast is in the bar area, so not very pleasant at all, and this too was basic although seemed fresh.
The small town of Lund also leaves a lot to be desired. I have never seen so many beggars on streets, even in major UK cities there are not as many per square foot as this small town has! The train station is well located to get around Sweden, and the town is minutes away from the city of Malmo. There are however a good range of decent restaurants locally, so evenings here are quite pleasant.
I think this ranks amongst one of the worst hotels that I've stayed in for size and quality. If you want quaint and snug, choose here, if you want comfort and even just a bit of normal luxury, then choose one of the larger chain hotels.

Room Tip: I couldn't recommend a room, we looked at 3 before giving in the the best of the worst......my a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    15
    12
    7
    10
See reviews for
4
15
2
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Stayed here for a week for a work related event recently and loved it! The person working at reception was friendly and chatty. The room, although small, was full of character, definitely not like your typical hotel room. The breakfast at Berlin Bar was really pleasant, had a large selection of Swedish style breakfast items and fresh berries. Although some facilities are not available, long stayers are allowed to use their laundry room free of charge. You can also request for little items like a kettle in your room and the owner is happy to accommodate. All in all, a pleasant stay and i would certainly recommend this property to others.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

I stayed here on business for two nights. The room was spacious and clean with a very comfy bed. The location is great, within walking distance of the railway station and right into the midst of things. The owner was actually very nice: we chatted about European locations and he did not mind that because of an organizational mishap I had resulted in a no show the day before. The breakfast was good and wifi was excellent, easy to connect to and powerful enough to stream a football game. I stayed in two other hotels while on business in Lund: this is the one which I will choose to go back to next time I am in town.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

At check-out nobody was on reception. I rang the bell and a man sitting in the restaurant barked at me aggressively in Swedish. Not speaking Swedish (presumably not an uncommon situation for people staying in the hotel) I continued to wait at reception. He then shouted 'I'm busy!!' before finally coming to reception to ask me 'What do you want?'. Now I'm not sure how it works in Sweden but I always check out when I leave. He was then rude and abrupt in explaining how invoicing works (staying on business I hadn't booked the room myself and a polite explanation would have been fine). The hotel was average but I was tempted to score lower because of the rudeness of the check out experience. Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014 via mobile

The owner in the reception was very rud and unpolite. If it hadn't been short of rooms in other hotels I would have left in the doorway!!! Hard to understand why people choose to work in the service sector with that kind if attitude. Old fashion room that smelled bad.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

I did not have the same complaints that others did. My room (431, see pictures attached) was large, clean, and in good shape. Not "fancy" decor by American standards, but well appointed.

Easily walkable from train station (and most historical sites in Lund and much of the university campus), though the entrance wasn't as pictured on the website, as there is a new restaurant in that space. (The entrance is on Sankt Petri Kyrkogata before you get to the corner).

The breakfast was a good European selection (meats, breads, cereals, yogurts), and we went down late and still had plenty to choose from.

Other pros: the Berlin Bar has great food for dinner, and it's right downstairs. All staff we worked with spoke English, and signs in the room were in English. We had consistent wifi the entire visit, used frequently. Comfortable beds. TV had some English channels.

Cons: We did have some inconsistencies with the staff. One (likely the owner) was less than friendly, and we had to stand and wait for him to finish with a task before he'd acknowledge us. Another was very helpful and even pointed out tricks on using the hotel keys (Americans often find that...) He also didn't give tips on how to work doors that were closed and locked (I felt a bit awkward, thanks). Unlike American hotels, the hotel desk is not manned 24 hours a day. No A/C (we didn't need it, but it's worth noting).

Room Tip: 431 (see pics) was a roomy suite, with a double bed, a separate living room, and a kitchen with stov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

I would not stay in this hotel again. it appears modern and trendy and the rooms are nice, with large clean bathrooms. But the reception service is inconsistent, sometimes amateurish, sometimes rude. The Wifi capacity is too limited and for most of my stay I couldn't get online, allegedly because 'other guests were overusing the service'. The lock fell out (!) of the door of my room and some of the bathroom hook fittings were loose. The cleaning service was strange, either too early or too late. There is no restaurant and the attached 'Berlin Bar' serves breakfast (for a limited time) and dinner but not lunch. Human problems spoiling a nice building!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Duxiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duxiana

Address: Sankt Petri Kyrkogata 7, Lund 222 21, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Lund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Lund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This designer hotel is set in an early 1900s building in the heart of Lund. It offers luxurious Dux beds and free Wi-Fi. Lund Central Station is only 4 minutes’ walk away. All guest rooms at Hotel Duxiana are individually decorated. Each room includes a seating area, a work desk and cable TV. In addition, Duxiana has a garden. February 2013 we will also open up a restaurant/bar located in our premises. Duxiana Hotel is right next to the Lund University area and 300 meters from the 12th–century Lund Cathedral. Local buses stop nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Duxiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxiana Hotel Lund

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Duxiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.