We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard hotel outside city centre.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Hotel Star Lund

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Hotel Star Lund to your Saves list
Scandic Hotel Star Lund
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Glimmervagen 5 | P.O. Box 11026, Lund 220 11, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Lund
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good standard hotel outside city centre.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel is quite a distance from the medieval city centre of Lund, but Lund being a small place this means 10 minutes by bus or taxi from the central station or the cathedral. The hotel is big and part of the Scandic group so you know pretty much what you will get. It is often used for conferences, which was the reason I was there, and the food served was delicious. The room was spacious and the bathroom large with both shower compartment and a separate bath tub. It was quiet and the bed was comfortable.
I would stay here again, in particular if I came by car, since it is very difficult to drive in the centre of Lund. Here you are close to the motorway and it is easy to park.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    56
    46
    21
    9
See reviews for
45
20
11
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have stayed in several Scandic hotels before and whilst none of them are five star, I have learnt to expect a minimum standard, with fairly modern interiors. The lobby at the Scandic Star was quite nice and airy, but once up the escalators to where the rooms are, at least mine (1st floor) was really shabby and my room was really dark and dated. The bathroom had 80s tiles and sanitary wear, with the shower rail broken etc. Also the single bed seemed extra narrow, but that may be just to not being used to sleeping in one! Overall, I was slightly disappointed. The breakfast was OK and the staff was very friendly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

It's a Scandic so it has a minimum standard, but it's out of town and therefore rather isolated. It was okay for business but there are so many better choices in Lund. The breakfast did not have the choice one would normally expect and the rooms were just a little tired looking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Another stay at the Scandic Star - because it is the nearest hotel to my relatives and the only one with a pool, for my granddaughter to swim in.

This time I booked a room with a queen size bed, for a change - I think I have tried all but the suites now. This room had a bathroom with shower only and rather a wobbly shower screen - however. It also had no wardrobe, but just hanging space and shelves. There was a desk and a small safe. The decor was different from the rather heavy out-dated rooms I have had before - this one was neutral.

Good points: Heating was good. Breakfast was good, as always. Pool, gym and sauna were fine, as always. No tea and coffee facilities in room, but was given a kettle by reception and free milk, etc from the facility in the reception/shop area. Nice Christmas decorations.

Not so good points: Despite asking for early check-in, room was not ready upon arrival and told it would take until 2pm. Reception area still looks worn - carpet stained, etc. Breakfast room had been halved in size for the Saturday meal and then was further reduced for the Sunday one - making it rather crowded. Still no free newspaper (I have a Scandic card). No lunches served on Saturday. Large lump of wood out of one window frame, leaving splintered remains, curtains in room off tracks in places. Room not serviced whilst I was out on first day, as expected - I was in from 3.30pm to 4.30pm and part of the morning. Noisy fans under window not switched off until late. Only 2 hangars in room - had to find maid and get more.

For me, the location and the good points outweigh the bad, but they certainly could do better! small things, such as curtains and repairs would make a difference.

Room Tip: Family rooms have a separate lounge area and small wardrobes beside the bed - otherwise it is mainly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed in the Scandic Star Lund for four nights, while attending a conference - also in the hotel.
The good things about my room in the hotel were: excellent food; free, fast wifi; a pool (albeit small); the range of tv channels; the amount of space in the room (my room had a separate lounge area, as well as a separate bedroom and bathroom, plenty of storage space, as well as a full-sized desk), as well as amount of space in the shower. There was also a bath and a shower in my room.
The not so-good things: the bathroom was not quite clean - grubby grouting, and it had not been properly cleaned before I arrived or during my stay - there were marks on the bath which were not cleaned while I was there; the bedroom had big clumps of dust on the floor - again these were there when I arrived and these were not cleaned during my stay; the bed was lumpy - the mattress needed replacing. Luckily it was a twin room, so I slept in the other bed, but this was near to the draughty window. The cold - the room was always chilly. The heating was up to max but the radiators never seemed to be on. The windows were draughty. The noise of the roads nearby is surprising, given that the hotel seems to be far away from everything. The hotel does not sell the bus pre-paid card that you need to use the bus into town. A slight catch 22, as you cannot pay cash, or buy a card on the bus. I got a taxi when I arrived (as I had a big suitcase), but when I wanted to pop into town, I decided to use the bus. Luckily, the driver allowed me to travel in for free (which he was not obliged to do, of course), and I bought a card in town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Quite a large hotel in industrial area a few km out of Lund town centre. I was visiting Tetrapak, so this was a nearby convenient hotel.

Large room, almost a suite really, with seperate "bedroom" area and "lounge" area. Only snag was no decent lighting in the lounge, so most of the lounge area was too dark to do anything. This is strange, because usually in sweden there are too many lights everywhere. Room fixtures and fittings a little dated, but clean and had everything i needed, including an old fashioned non-steam iron.

Breakfast was to usual very high standard, with good choice and excellent fresh spread of hot and cold fresh food. I did eat in the hotel restaurant one night and it was OK, but maybe a little overpriced and nothing special really, but OK. Staff helpful and efficient, and easy to get good taxis etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Once again we stayed at Scandic Star with the family. We got a nice 2 bedroom room and the kids liked the pool area very much. Nice breakfast with a lot to choose from. The hotel is a little away from center but no problem when you have a car.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Hotel Star Lund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Star Lund

Address: Glimmervagen 5 | P.O. Box 11026, Lund 220 11, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Lund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Lund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Hotel Star Lund 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy great food in our restaurant Gerda's, and borrow a bike from Reception to explore Lund attractions like the cathedral. The hotel has 22 meeting rooms for 2-450, all with wireless internet access. Relax in the Scandic Star hotel's sauna or swim lengths in the indoor pool. Tee off at one of several local golf courses, including Akademiska Golf Club, 5 km away. All kids are welcome to Scandic Star. We always have pancakes for the kids and maybe you will even get a chance to meet up with Sigge - our mascot! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Scandic Hotel Star Lund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Hotel Star Lund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.