We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Старинный шик в шведской провинции” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bantorget 1, Lund 22104, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Lund
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Старинный шик в шведской провинции”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited this hotel in mid December 2014 for the first time and stayed there for business for a couple of days. I rarely like business hotels but this one is really different. It has a truly authentic character and does not remind you any of those sad sterile corridors that you may find in Hilton's and other Sheratons: real wood doors and furniture, very comfortable bad, real paintings on the walls, opening windows with fresh air at any time of the day and clean bathroom with real comfortable bath. No gym, no spa, but a very good restaurant and a Nespresso coffee machine for fee in the hall of every floor. Great place! Or, another important point: very good and absolutely invisible service... I recommend!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjorn_Gustavsson, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear AlexTre -

My colleagues and I are quite proud when we read your kind review of the Grand Hotel.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon again.

Kind regards,
Björn Gustavsson
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    68
    23
    7
    3
See reviews for
11
33
21
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

With it's convenient location, it is nice to be able to walk 7 or 8 minutes from the train station to the Grand Hotel. The location of the hotel is perfect if you like to walk around a city and explore, and Lund certainly rewards exploring. I had business at Lund University and was able to walk to my appointments from the hotel. The hotel itself is nicely maintained and my room was comfortable, spacious and well-appointed. Breakfast in the dining room was very good and there are a number of good restaurants and coffee shops nearby for dining variety. The elevators are small so I used the grand staircase to get to and from my room, which was fine. This is an excellent choice for a hotel in Lund.

Room Tip: My room was at the front of the hotel on a high floor overlooking the park in front of the hotel. Di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjorn_Gustavsson, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear TomX -

Thank you for your kind review of the Grand Hotel.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I do hope that you will return to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Björn Gustavsson
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

The grand facade on the outside does hide a slightly dated interior mainly the corridors on each floor. That side once inside the room I was happy the rooms are a good size and the bathroom was well appointed and bathrobes were provided.

The restaraunt served very good food not a huge choice but the food was very good indeed. The bar seating area merged into the restaraunt which i felt was a bit strange as you could be having a meal very close to people just having a drink so could be noisy and busy.

A very short walk from train station and bang in the city, all in all though a pleasant hotel

Room Tip: rooms at the front do get the train noise but not excessive
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjorn_Gustavsson, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear STG66 -

Thank you for your review.

I am glad you had a pleasant stay and I hope you will return to Grand Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Björn Gustavsson
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

The Grand Hotel deserves its name — a very old and grande place. The service was very good, with an afternoon checkout being no problem whatsoever and truly entertaining, knowledgeable bartenders.

The rooms managed to mix charme with modern equipment and offered everything one would want, except thongs for using the Sauna. The relaxation room appears to be a little improvised but the sauna facility was tasteful. The breakfast was very rich and the beauty of the restaurant adds to the experience. I would like to stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor are large and very bright whereas those on the fourth floor are cosy an...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjorn_Gustavsson, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Dear Jacapsicum -

Thank you for your kind review of the Grand Hotel. I very much hope that you will return soon again.

Kind regards,
Björn Gustavsson
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnea
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Great location. Our room #252 was in a horrible location. It was next to a ballroom that had a loud event. It was over the front door where all the intoxicated smokers hung out. And on top of that, you could hear all the trains!! We didn't sleep a wink. The bathrooms were clean but dated and sparse. The restaurant was good and very elegant.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjorn_Gustavsson, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Dear Holly P -

I am very sorry to learn that you had a disappointing stay.

I hope that you will return to Lund - I would be most grateful for an opportunity to put things right.

Kind regards,
Björn Gustavsson
Front Desk Manager
bjorn.gustavsson@grandilund.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

This is one of the nicer hotels in Lund. The location is at the end of one of the main streets and a couple of minutes walk from the railway station.

I had a room on the top floor, essentially the loft room:
- well equipped and large room
- clean
- decent sized bathroom
- no air conditioning

The staff were friendly and efficient. The restaurant is also good; the bar is along the side of the restaurant so can get busy but the bar staff are also great.

It would be worth booking the restaurant if you want to go as it can get busy very quickly.

Overall recommended.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjorn_Gustavsson, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Dear UKLondon TravellerN -

Thank you for recommending the Grand Hotel. You are quite right that it is advisable to make a reservation in our popular restaurants.

I do hope that you will return to our hotel soon again.

Kind regards,
Björn Gustavsson
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston Ma
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

This is a hotel that belongs in the movies. Beautiful sweeping staircase with stained glass windows. Two foot tall crystal vases with new arrangements every day. Nespresso machine with china cups and saucers at the landings instead of in room Mr. Coffee pots.Extremely high ceilings (12 foot?). Everything just oozed with elegance, even the complimentary breakfast buffet. Candles, china REAL silverware. We were lucky enough to attend a delicious banquet and the staff was perfect. The housekeeping staff was so efficient, that we stepped out for 20 minutes for an early breakfast and returned to find our room completely refreshed. The location is perfect to walk to everything. Within a block of the train and adjacent to the pedestrian shopping street.
The only issues that we had were things which seem to be quirks of the Swedish culture. The elevators are extremely small. The two of us and our wheeled carry-ons filled the compartment. Swedes seem to prefer to carry their bags up the stairs, even in airports. The second quirk we also encountered in Stockholm. Twin beds with separate duvets. No cuddling here. The third quirk is the size of the bathtubs- less than 24" wide and the shower head is mounted on the side wall so it sprays directly into your face. But the towels were very plush

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjorn_Gustavsson, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Dear Tutelee -

Thank you for your kind review. I am very glad that you enjoyed Grand Hotel's blend of old world charm and modern day amenities.

Kind regards,
Björn Gustavsson
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: Bantorget 1, Lund 22104, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Lund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lund
#4 Business Hotel in Lund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel has all the atmospheric charm one expects from a 19th century hotel. All rooms are equipped with dressing gown, cable TV and wireless internet. Our famous buffet breakfast is included in the price of the room. Combine your overnight stay with food and drink in the fine dining ambience of the Grand’s fine-dining restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lund

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.