We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with some drawbacks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Djingis Khan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Djingis Khan to your Saves list
Hotel Djingis Khan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Margaretavagen 7, Lund SE-22240, Sweden (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Djingis Khan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Lund
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice place with some drawbacks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hotel is placed not so far from the center, but in a peaceful neighborhood. At a first glance you get impression it's a family ran business. Corridors and stairs are uncomfortably narrow. Rooms are regular to small sized. No objection to cleanness. But heating in rooms is not sufficient during winter, I was freezing, had to use two blankets on bed. There is no proper wardrobe closet. just hanger and that's all. Where to put rest, what doesn't fit to the hangers??? I resent bad internet connection. Even if you find a good signal, and good bandwidth, data just doesn't pass trough. I complained, they said they know about it and there is nothing they can do. That was not nice. If you want to do something online there, you'll need more than luck. They have two desktop computers available for guests, but both were out of order at the time. Hotel is providing free bike rental, that is nice, although bikes are in very bad shape. I have seen other free hotel bikes on the streets that were much better. Breakfast is common, nothing special, but one can combine a modest meal by own personal taste. Nice thing is they provide a free dinner for guests. In the evening from 18-21 you get soup, and some modest main course with salad. Nothing special, is tasteful, and a good saver against expensive restaurants in the city.

Bottom line: Nice cozy hotel, but because of internet problems, I'll search for another place next time.

Room Tip: Roms at the ground level are warmer in winter and perhaps the internet can catch a bit more data the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    33
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
9
24
4
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

The hotel was comfortable and clean. The set menu dinner was excellent. The breakfast selection was also very good. I would use this hotel again. The city of Lund is well worth visiting as it is a vibrant university city.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We arrived in Lund travelling back home from Stockholm and stopped here before crossing Malmö bridge. The hotel itself has everything you may need as sauna or fitness. They offer a light buffet dinner and a very good breakfast. The only bad think is that they are very rigid about meal times: at exactly 9.30 the ring bells and the doors close as beeing at school instead on vacations.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Lund is a very interesting town. The hotel is located a bit out of town, sat nav took us first to a field but once we reset it we found a helpful sign. It looked like a university hall of residence from outside .
It seems to combine the features of a residence with a 4 star hotel quite well. We had a studio flat,cooker, sink, kettle, TV,ironing board and iron.
There is a laundry room with a booking system. Too bad 1 other guest decided to ignore the system!
As we had all our camping stuff we could make our own tea and wash up.
The deal included breakfast and dinner. Both were fine and easy. The coffee and hot chocolate were on constant stream.
There are some tired bits of the building but it all worked very well. The staff were pleasant but they are worked hard.
The best shower ever in the flat!!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Near Lund University, very convenient.
Rooms are large enough although the beds are extremely soft. Rooms are in a bit of old state though.
Tea cooker in the room with no tea? Luckily I took some tea bags from the lobby.
Good value for money!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Have stayed here 4-5 times a year, for 2 weeks at a time whilse a doctoral student. I booked one of the upstairs apartments and settled in. This became my home away from home and the staff like family. One one side of the hotel is a beautiful park with rolling hills - perfect for brisk walks or a jog. Other side of hotel was the university - a nice walk in safe, attractive setting. The breakfast was perfect start to any day. Each afternoon the staff sets out freshly baked cookies and there is a nice, light diner buffet.
Aside from clean rooms, fast wifi, close proximity to university and nature, bountiful food and drink - the staff have been the best! Always willing to help book trains, hotel rooms in other cities, and even prepared snacks for classmates. Many have worked there for more than 10 years - so the owners must be good people. You won't regret staying here!!!

Room Tip: First floor rooms on garden side have a sweet little patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights in october. Very nice breakfast buffe (included in the price) and decent wifi speed. The room was clean, spacious enough and had furniture, which is nice if you do not want to stay in bed all the time. The hotel is within about 15 minutes walking distance from the city center.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Djingis Khan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Djingis Khan

Address: Margaretavagen 7, Lund SE-22240, Sweden (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Djingis Khan)
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Lund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Djingis Khan 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Djingis Khan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lund
Lund Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Djingis Khan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.