We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first visit, but will return.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of First Hotel Christian IV

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added First Hotel Christian IV to your Saves list
First Hotel Christian IV
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Vastra Boulevarden 15, Kristianstad 29131, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Kristianstad
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“first visit, but will return.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

like a small scale Dakota from the outside. service good, I don't like over attentiveness. Room with balcony and great views, but would agree with previous comments on the bathroom. bath was great but shower head broken and of poor quality.

Room Tip: access to the balcony didn't seem to lock. probably not a good to leave unattended children in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    16
    18
    7
See reviews for
4
25
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights on business. I agree with most of the comments. Good location, lovely building on the outside and decent service. My room was clean and the bed comfortable but the main downside is that it was really dated especially the bathroom which was really basic - like the youth hostels I remember from my backpacking days. The hotel definitely needs refurbishing.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here for two nights.

Have to say the quality of the hotel is in desperate need of a refresh. It is such a beautiful building and has immense potential but needs the care and money to update it to a current four star standard.

The bedrooms are quite untidy and dusty. The carpet on the stairs in so worn that you could trip on it. the only upside I thought was the dining area that had nice crockery and a good ambience but apart from that. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The rooms were spacious but very poorly cleaned, furniture was old and tatty, TV from 1969...

The beds were made when we came but very slovenly done no fluffing of cushions and easy on the eye soft furnishings here im afraid. The bathroom was spacious but very old and needed renovating and fixing a great deal. The breakfast room was horrible I didnt want to sit on the chairs that were covered with chair covers that were filthy, is dark blue a really good colour for this purpose....!!

Not a place i would recommend at all I am affraid oh and another thing the windows couldnt be opened so it was a sauna all night...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Worn out rooms. Not enough space to eat breakfast. Poor quality food for breakfast. Poor soundproofing against the main street.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011 via mobile

I stayed here for one night. Location is great and the building is fantastic. Sadly there is a need for renovation both for the rooms and in the rest of the building. I can't accept that the bathroom is 20 years old for that kind of price.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

We got a wonderful room on 4:th floor facing the park. We liked the size, the big windows facing the park, the very height. I am very sensitive to noise, but here it was no problem. But if you are like me, be sure to get a room not lower than 3:rd floor. (Don´t choose the dull backside.) The beds was super. The staff was very friendly, helpful and competent.
Breakfast had all we could wish. And more. The bread was top-quality. (Ham was awful)
Free and safe parking.
Negative: Windows was very dirty, but I cleaned them. TV was from another decade. (I do not use TV.) Don´t eat dinner here. I think this wonderful building, is in urgent need of competent management. List-price is a joke.
PS. I strongly recommend one of the tower rooms. But don´t pay to much.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to First Hotel Christian IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Christian IV

Address: Vastra Boulevarden 15, Kristianstad 29131, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Kristianstad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Kristianstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Hotel Christian IV 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your First Hotel Christian IV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Hotel Kristianstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Hotel Christian IV, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.