We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sillen & Makrillen

Sillen & Makrillen
Fagelsangsgatan 2, Helsingborg 252 20, Sweden
042-28 15 53
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 202 Restaurants in Helsingborg
Cuisines: Swedish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good food, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I came here for dinner with some friends on a lovely sunny evening, so really got to appreciate the wonderful location of this restaurant. It was too cold to sit outside, but with floor to ceiling windows we still had a great view of the sunset. The food was very tasty and well cooked, and surprisingly big portions. Our waitress Beatrice was superb, very knowledgeable about the wines on offer and very friendly and chatty.

A really nice restaurant, and would love to come back when its warm enough to sit outside and relax for a few hours.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    42
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Thank goodness for local knowledge.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We arranged to meet a business colleague for dinner whilst in Helsingborg and suggested he choose the venue as he was a local.
This where we ended up, quite a walk from our hotel but well worth the effort.
A packed restaurant when we arrived - good job we had booked.
Squeezed into a corner near some boisterous parties, I will admit to being a little dubious but then read the menu - OMG such choice.
The fish was amazing, the wine selection equally so. Not the cheapest meal I have ever eaten but hey, this is Sweden!
Service was lovely
I really hope to return soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not worth it price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We were out 4 of us to have a nice evening. My brother and his wife offered us an evening that should be something special. The Place was very nice situated on the beach.

We were taking some local fish for dinner with white wine to drink. After waiting a very, very long time we got a fish that was completely dry and impoosible to eat.

When we called the servant and told the person in question how bad it was, we got the anwer "Yes we know".

We ordered som meat instead and the meat was OK but not top class. But no way any compensation. In stead we had to pay for the white wine that didn´t match the meat and eaven to pay for the red wine we must order to match the meat.

For a restaurant with those prices it was not good. It was my first and last visit in this restaurant. Everything can go bad sometimes, but you must take special care of the customer when that happens. but this restaurant did´t do ANYTHING to make the situation better for us, so I can´t recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very best one in Helsingborg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The new restaurant in the north coast of Helsingborg, Sillen and Makrillen is the very best one in Helsingborg, in my view. The variety of dishes are not many but good enough for most of guests. I took tartar steak for the starter and Panko fried flounder. Panko is actually a Japanese name of bread crumbs. Along with the taste of dishes, the atmosphere, service and scenery of the restaurant is fascinating. The only drawback is the location. It's a bit too far to walk from the center of the city, on rainy or windy day particularly. But in Summer, it will be fine to enjoy walking along the coast.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic food with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The location of this restaurant is extremely nice. You are a sitting direct by the water overlooking the Öresund over to Denmark. The food and service is excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sillen & Makrillen also viewed

Helsingborg, Skane County
Helsingborg, Skane County
 
Helsingborg, Skane County
Helsingborg, Skane County
 

Been to Sillen & Makrillen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sillen & Makrillen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.