We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better hotels in Helsingborg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Clarion Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stortorget 8-12, Helsingborg 251 11, Sweden (Formerly Radisson SAS Grand)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Helsingborg
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“One of the better hotels in Helsingborg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel is centrally located in the City, close to the ferry to Denmark. It is easy to find, parking can be a problem, but the hotel has a garage, which is 150 metres away from hotel and must be paid for. Hotel interior is dated, but has character. Ensure you request a large room as some of the bedrooms are very small. Breakfast buffet is great and staff are very friendly.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia R, Manager at Clarion Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Mark B,
Thank you for taking time to write a comment about your stay with us. Nice to hear that you enjoyed the stay.
We hope that you will come back to us soon.

Best Regards,
Your friends at Clarion Grand Hotel
(Cecilia Rosqvist, Sales Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    93
    37
    14
    3
See reviews for
25
63
11
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holten, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

the hotel is perfectly well situated in the middle of the town. Helsingborg's shopping is recommendable! Though renovation is and partly has teken place, the rooms cannot be qualified as superb. We had both a renovated and an "old" room. The difference was not really significant.
Both bathrooms were small with only a shower and a single wash basin. The "grand café" which os part of the hotel is not very cosy, wheras the lounge and bar area is small.
Breakfast is good with a good choice, but is only served till 09.30.
The front desk is extremely helpfull and can cheer up ones day. Parking facilities are across the street in an underground garage. A little inconveniet, but spacious and secure.
We have not used the restaurant except for a small buffet, which was good and tasty.

For Helsingborg the hotel is certainly recommendable, but ask for a renovated room at the back anyway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia R, Manager at Clarion Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a few words about your stay with us.
For your next stay with us please tell us which room you would prefer to stay in so that we could help you.

Welcome back to us!

Best Regards,
Cecilia Rosqvist
Inhouse Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Have stayed here a couple of times and like the classical building and the rooms are good enough. Free wifi is a pre-requisite for a hotel to me and that they have as well. The ecological breakfast in the integrated breakfast / cafe area is also a good thing. Personell welcoming and polite.

The only negative thing that comes to mind is the extremely slow elevator. The stairs are preferred if in a hurry.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia R, Manager at Clarion Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Lovely to hear that you are enjoying your stay each time you are staying at Clarion Grand Hotel.
I hope that you´ll be back soon again.

Best Regards,
Cecilia Rosqvist
Inhouse Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Parked the car on the Square were the Grand Hotel is located and decided I needed a quick coffee and something sweet. Had an hour to kill while my wife was having a spa treatment. The grand coffee which is connected to the Grand Hotel is a coffee shop which I have always seen but never used, not sure why, usually just walk passed on the way to somewhere else. Time to try a cup of regular coffee and a cookie. Very nice, good service, clean, tables on the street. I got my coffee and cookie and found a seat out on the street. Nice experience, that that important thing. Top marks from me... Thanks Grand Coffee I'll return soon.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia R, Manager at Clarion Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about Grand Coffee. Your are more than welcome back to enjoy another cup of coffee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This hotel is located in a very nice building in the heart of Helsingborg, very close to the harbor. The room was really nice, with a wooden floor, definitely with a lot of charm. The noise level in the hotel was really very low, giving me an excellent sleep during the two days I stayed there.

Hotel staff is very friendly, breakfast offer ample choice, so I absolutely can recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia R, Manager at Clarion Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Lovely to hear that you had a nice stay. Welcome back to us.

Kind Regards,
Cecilia Rosqvist
Inhouse Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is how a hotel should feel like, with the old charm left. Very nice and friendly staff, not stiff but actually fun to chat with. Lobby with old wood paneling and grand staircase. Artifacts and pieces of art to look at.

My room was a single and not big, but had everything I needed. Comfortable bed, huge desk, closet, iron and large iron board, free wi-fi, ceiling fan proof of lack of A/C but the window was openable, Sony dock for my iPhone. Clean room and bathroom. Would have liked a bathroom mat, now had to use a towel for that. Quiet!

Breakfast was plentiful with everything I needed, except low cal natural yoghurt. Lots of food stuffs were organic. Make you own fresh OJ

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia R, Manager at Clarion Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about your stay with us. Welcome back to us!

Kind Regards,

Cecilia Rosqvist
Inhouse Sale Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trosa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

In an old building in central Helsingborg you find this hotel. The staff is very helpful and when I asked for a quiet room, I actually got that. It was a single room, so it was on the small side, but clean and comfortable. Appreciated the iPhone/iPod player!

Room Tip: The higher up, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia R, Manager at Clarion Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel.
Welcome back to us!

Kind Regards,

Cecilia Rosqvist
Inhouse Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Grand Hotel

Address: Stortorget 8-12, Helsingborg 251 11, Sweden (Formerly Radisson SAS Grand)
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Helsingborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Helsingborg
#1 Business Hotel in Helsingborg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarion Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Helsingborg
Helsingborg Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.