We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but great either” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Horisont

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Horisont to your Saves list
Hotel Horisont
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gustav Adolfs Gata 47, Helsingborg 252 27, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Helsingborg
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not bad but great either”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Horisont for one night.
The hotel itself is allright, but it felt a bit deserted on a Saturday night. The location is not particularly great if you're visiting Helsingborg as a tourist. However, parking is free and the town centre is only five minutes away in a taxi (approx. 100 SEK). You could probably walk there in 15 minutes.
I was pleasantly surprised by the breakfast buffet, which had everything you could wish for. The breakfast was way above average...In fact I'd almost say it was great!
All in all a pretty average stay. We payed approx. 900 SEK for a room including breakfast (2 adults+2 children) and that price I found reasonable all things considered.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    25
    26
    9
    6
See reviews for
15
25
4
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NL
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Firstly, this is no longer a Scandic hotel.
There is nothing about this hotel to recommend.
The bedroom reminded me of my room at University and that was in the seventies!
The bedroom was small, but with 2 single beds taking up most of the floor space.
I phoned reception to ask if this was normal. I was advised that i was in single room that was used as a double from time to time, and that I should just fold down and push the second bed under the first one, to make more room. Had the Hotel been full I could have had some understanding for the situation. With few guests staying at the hotel, a smart receptionist would have offered the best rooms in the hotel and not the smallest.
There is not bath in the bathroom, and the design of the shower is such that the whole floor of the bathroom gets wet when using the shower.
The restaurant reminded me of a school dining hall.
Combine this with indifferent staff and the only conclusion is " get me out of here"

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

i have stayed in a couple of different hotel in Helsingborg and this was the worse experience. Elevator was broken, dirty rooms, smoke smell in smoke free room and no curtain at the window.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My flight was cancelled so I needed a place to stay and the Scandic Horisont had available rooms at OK prices. The interiors are rather drab, with an 80's DDR feel (lots of brick, brown and yellow glass). The room was simple, with not quite up-to-date furnishin, but clean and the bed was very comfortable.

The bathroom was clean but cold and bare and the shower head was one of those cheap plastic things without any power. There was only a dispenser for Lux shower gel and soap, nothing else. I would have appreciated the usual amenities such as shampoo, toothbrush and toothpaste. These can all be bought at the reception, but they only stock full-size bottles which is a waste of both money and luggage space for the overnighter caught without toiletries.

I ordered a horrendous and very overpriced platter of cold cuts with wine at the bar. Breakfast was much better, with a good selection of basic breakfast fare and also a juicer where you could squeeze your own orange juice.

Despite my room's proximity to the elevators, and the window facing the nearby motorway, I slept well. I would have appreciated being able to adjust the room's thermostat, though, as I found it a little cold.

Service was friendly.

All in all there's neither much to complain about, nor anything that would lead me to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed one night in this hotel when visiting family. The room was cheap (672 SEK at Hotels.com for two people including breakfast) and rather spacious, even though a bit worn. Staff was friendly and helpful and parking right outside of the hotel was free of charce just as the WiFi. Breakfast was also included in the price. The breakfast buffet was good. Nothing missing. A good place to stay for a night or two when visiting Helsingborg or on your way further.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norrkoping, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

- Old hotell, low standard
- Fire alarm went off as someone was boiling water in the room at 7o clock in the morning
- No aircondition

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Horisont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Horisont

Address: Gustav Adolfs Gata 47, Helsingborg 252 27, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Helsingborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Helsingborg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Horisont 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 8-story Hotel with restaurant and free parking is located in city center; the staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Horisont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Horisont Helsingborg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Horisont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.