We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location and good service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Grand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Hotel Grand to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Hotel Grand
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Nybrogatan 13, Sundsvall 852 35, Sweden (Formerly Clarion Grand Hotel Sundsvall)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sundsvall
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Convenient location and good service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The Clarion Grand Hotel is located in the heart of the historic Sundsvall City center. On street parking was pretty straight forward but check with the desk clerk on the time when you should obtain a parking pass (after 9AM) from an automated terminal (one clsoe to the hotel). The desk staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the big surprise on our stay was the complimentary breakfast AND dinner. The breakfast offered a good slection and the dinner was a bonus to save a few dollars. The dinner didn't offer a huge selection but based ont he quality we were more than happy to save some Krona! The room was spotless but the batroom has a swinging glass "door" for the shower area that didn't stop the floor around the shower area from becoming covered with water. The rooms were more spacious than I would have expected and provided space for bags and suitcases. I would highly recommend the Clarion to anyone for the great overall experience it offers.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    59
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
48
8
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stjordal, Norway
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

I had a stopover here with my friend in June 2010.

The service from the reception personell was very good, the room was very good, the breakfast was very good, the beds were very good, the location was very good - almost everything was very good.

I have three "negative" things to mention:

- There was a glass door to the bathroom. I don't understand why, but a lot of hotels have glass doors to the bathroom. I don't want to have a glass door in front of me when I'm sitting on the toilet.

- When I showered, all of the bathroom floor got flooded.

- We got a room located right over a fitness center. There was extremely high and noisy music from downunder (the floor was actually "shaking"). This was no problem for me and my friend, because we were out in the town until late night, but if you are travelling there with kids - ask to get a quiet room far away from the fitness center.

If it wasn't for those three "negative" things, I would give the hotel best rating on all fields.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

Spent 4 nights in deepest January in Sundsvall on business. Once again the place was a delight. Friendly staff, spotless room, truly excellent breakfast. Reception even pointed out that the water from the tap is drinkable as 'Sundsvall has the best water in the country'. Save me a few Krona the rest of the week buying expensive bottled water - good on them!

I managed to get into room 119 which for those wishing a bit more space is definitely one of those to go for here.

Can't recommend this place enough...a good place to come back to and crash after a long day. Also...not far from railway station (good for that early return trip to Arlanda C) and in close proximity to bars, the Bishop's Arms (go figure) and the Tandoori Restaurant - weird place but does an excellent Balti.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

Receptionist was very helpfull, food deliciuos, nice design and located right in the centre and just 5 min. from train station. Truly recomended:)

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

Stayed two nights as part of a wedding party.
A nice hotel with an OK breakfast.
A little bit freaked out about the see-through door in the bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

As with most Scandanavian city centre hotels you will struggle to find somewhere to park your car, in winter, it is worthwhile using the garage 120SEk/night. Rooms are quite small but in good condition. WiFi is free & access is good. Breakfast choice is ample, included bacon & scrambled eggs. Evening you are able to take advantage of a free buffet....which is not bad, but not fantastic. Good food can be had not far from the hotel at Stek Husset on the Esplanade street.

  • Liked — Quiet location
  • Disliked — Small bed
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Grand

Address: Nybrogatan 13, Sundsvall 852 35, Sweden (Formerly Clarion Grand Hotel Sundsvall)
Location: Sweden > Midnight Sun Coast > Vasternorrland County > Sundsvall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sundsvall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Grand 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel Grand is situated in the unique city centre of Sundsvall, Stenstan. Here you stay in a light and Scandinavian atmosphere in one of Sundsvall's historical buildings from the 1930's. For everyone that likes the idea of a complimentary evening meal, it's our treat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Sundsvall
Sundsvall Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Hotel Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.