We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Elite Grand Hotel Gavle

Save Saved
You added Elite Grand Hotel Gavle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elite Grand Hotel Gavle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kyrkogatan 28, Gavle 803 11 , Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Gavle
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I spent two nights here in July 2013 with my 6 year old son. Good location and nice building but the service and facilities were not what I'd expect of a 4 star hotel. I booked a deluxe room, advertised as being larger than a superior room, but the room we got was very small; more like the size one expects for a standard room in cities such as London or Amsterdam where real estate is at a premium. It was definitely not as large as the photos of the deluxe rooms on the hotel website.The hotel advertised free wifi, but it was not available in my room and on one morning there was no coffee available at breakfast.

A friend said that the hotel could arrange discounted tickets to furuvik park, but when I rang they said that the tickets were the same price as if we had bought them at the park. I asked the hotel to arrange two tickets anyway and they charged me 30:- more than the cost of the tickets, which I felt was bad form.

The town of Gävle was a pleasant surprise and I would definitely visit again, although staying at a different hotel. There were lots of summer activities on offer for all ages in and around the town square along with nice parks and a decent swimming pool. We also found a couple of decent restaurants; Matildas is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are within range of the wifi access point, so if wifi in the room is important then ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    16
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
14
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

It is a beautiful hotel which has been recently completely refurbished. The staff are really pleasant and efficient. The rooms are nicely decorated and very comfortable. The restaurant is really good and the food is also really good. Breakfast is really good.
The rooms are well insulated so they are quite which is essential for a good nights sleep. The beds are really comfortable too.
The hotel is in a good location and you can walk just about anywhere in Gavle in just a few minutes. The hotel is also close to a really nice park which is great to go and run in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel is a modernized old building. It overlooks the canal and includes a high profile kitchen. The food is very good and fairly expensive, as is the hotel. The beds are very comfortable, as they usually are at the Elite-chain.
I ate at the restaurant, and enjoyed the food. The breakfast was slightly above average.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Hands down, this was one of the best hotel experiences I've had, any time/place. I stayed for 3 nights and felt like I was certainly living above my means. The breakfast is generous, tasty and rare. Everything you can imagine: fine meats, cheeses, cereal, yogurt, juices, caviar, all sorts of breads and croissants, waffles, fresh fruits, etc. The building and its deep, yellow color looks like a palace. Rooms are modern with no expense spared...heated marble floors in bathroom, the most comfy of beds. Temperature-controlled. Great location very near the train station and close to center of town; on the River and right across from the Old Town, where the Joe Hill museum is located. The staff were very professional and kind, formal but easy to assist with language and direction questions. Parking is 90 SEK per day and is a block or two away in a structure (easy). For the price it doesn't get much better than this. Lots of smiling faces in this hotel. Well done.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upplands-Vasby, Sweden
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This old hotel built 1901 was a hotel until 1940's and has since had different activities. Now it has once again been transformed to a luxurious hotel keeping the old style but with modern touches.
The entrance hall is really grand and the receptionist very nice and service-minded.
We had the executive suite, no 501, and what a suite!! Up in the attich it is huge! There are a kitchen area, a dining area, a cosy stove with compy armchairs, then a living-room area with sofas, armchair and TV with surround. Then you come to a looked door and when you open there is your bedroom. Gorgeous, big with comfy beds.
The en suite bathroom is huge, like a normal single room , with green marble, bathtub and a big shower cabin.
Oh, I forgot to mention the balcony, or rather terrace. It wasn't finished when we stayed Easter Day to Easter Monday but when in summer and with some nice lounge furnitures this will be absolutely wonderful. The view from almost every window is of Gavle river.
The breakfast is just in keeping with the rest. Very delicious and just what you want.
I can truly recommend the hotel and if you have the possibility go for suite 501.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elite Grand Hotel Gavle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Grand Hotel Gavle

Address: Kyrkogatan 28, Gavle 803 11 , Sweden
Location: Sweden > Midnight Sun Coast > Gavleborg County > Gavle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Gavle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Grand Hotel Gavle 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Elite Grand Hotel Gavle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elite Grand Hotel Gavle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.