We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast at the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Winn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Winn to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Winn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   N. Slottsgatan 9, Gavle SE- 80138, Sweden (Formerly Park Inn Gavle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gavle
Galati, Romania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Breakfast at the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Although spent only one night in hotel, I have enjoyed everything: welcome desk smilling and helpfull (even different shifts), room was large and nicely decorated - like all hotel itself (looks nordic style), confortable bed and pillows on my wish area to choose from. The best part, after a good night sleep, is to have a good breakfast ( in my opinion! ). And they are offering a lot of selections for every single taste of human being on this planet! Thanks Clarion Winn for making my day wonderfull! This should be a standard for all others hotels!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikael j, Hotelldirektör at Clarion Hotel Winn, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thanks a lot for you feedback. Pleased to see that you are real happy with the stay.
Hope to see you back soon.

Regards

Mikael Junger
Genaral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    42
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
22
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuopio, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay. I have no idea about the price, though, because I was on a business trip. Really nice hotel, I strongly recommend!

Restaurant was well aboce your average hotel restaurant and the staff made good recommendations for food and wine, both of which were tasted great!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikael j, Hotelldirektör at Clarion Hotel Winn, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank a lot Antero. Most welcome back.

Regards

Mikael Junger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Washington
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed 3 nights while visiting the area and some relatives. The staff was pleasant, helpful and friendly. The location is perfect for walking around the city and it has a convenient underground parking garage. Our room was clean and comfortable. One thing we learned for sure on our first visit to Sweden, you can't bet the free breakfasts. We would stay here again and sure hope to someday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikael j, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Winn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks a lot and you are most welcome back.

Thanks for your pespons, its important for us.

Kind regards

Mikael Junger / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel was more then i expected!
Rooms was spaciuous and bathroom was nice... everything was clean and beds was really nice.
i would have preffered to have a kingsize instead of 2x90cm beds, but otherwise OK!

location is top notch, very close to clubs, shopping, cinema and restaurants!
Beakfast was great! just as it always is in swedish hotels!

only bad thing i can come up with right now is the parkingspaces, there is none!

Generally the hotels in sweden have high standard and are much more international then hotels in UK, France or Denmark. you cant even compare.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikael j, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Winn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you very much!

Best regards
Mikael Junger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The first unwelcome thing from the hotel was to hear that the swimming pool and gym was closed for the summer. Not for fitness buffs, as even the staircase was closed! emergency exits were therefore blocked!
In 25C + weather the room not listed as one of the "spooked" rooms, I heard strange noises and white shapes crossing the room.
Rather warm room, airconditioning was poor, and were we would have appreciated electric fans if staff had been proactive enough to ensure the comfort of their guests. Ice was abundant. I think this hotel is unique in that way, a little funny though.
Beds were uncomfortable and smells a bit of sweat. But breakfast was excellent, with the exception of the pancakes, which even our little boy rejected.
The redeeming thing about this hotel was the service. No question was ever unanswered.
Location, very satisfied where we were relative to the places we wanted to visit. We'll be back in Gävle, but not for this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikael j, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Winn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We are sorry that the pool and relaxingarea had to be closed due to a electricproblem. We hope to see you again and we would love to show you the newfurbished relaxingarea.
Best regards
Mikael Junger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

What a cracking hotel, very friendly with excellent heated underground parking. Turns out that this is the place to be on a Friday night with everything half price before 6pm! We didn't get a table to we eat across the square in the Church St Saloon which is a great American diner.

Breakfast is the best I've had in a hotel. Overall I'm impressed and would recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikael j, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Winn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi Dan,
Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor.

Looking forward to welcome you again!

Best regards
Mikael Junger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
'Nige
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel is in a good location, with plenty of bars and restaurants within a few minutes walk. The room was clean and comfortable, with a tea/coffee making facilties in the room.

I ate in the hotels restaurant, which was very tasty with a good seection of local and classic dishes, and the services was timely. The selection at breakfast was also good and varied.

The only let down was that I did not see the ghost!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikael j, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Winn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
I hope you will meet Julia at your next visit!

Best regards
Mikael Junger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Winn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Winn

Address: N. Slottsgatan 9, Gavle SE- 80138, Sweden (Formerly Park Inn Gavle)
Location: Sweden > Midnight Sun Coast > Gavleborg County > Gavle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gavle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Winn 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Winn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel gävle
gävle Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Winn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.