We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy, reasonably priced vegetarian and vegan food! Yum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rost Mat & Kaffe

Rost Mat & Kaffe
Skolgatan 62, Umea, Sweden
090-135800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 118 Restaurants in Umea
Price range: $9 - $15
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Healthy, reasonably priced vegetarian and vegan food! Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I've been here twice during my short stay in Umeå and I can thoroughly recommend it. They offer great vegetarian and vegan options which are not easy to come by in northern Scandinavia. They have yummy vegan soups (one day they had zucchini and broccoli, and the other day carrot and paprika) served with sides such as quinoa, pearl barley and lentils with a tasty dressing. They also have a good selection of open sandwiches with hummus, vegetables etc. The latte was yum (they even have soy milk available here), but I would avoid the hot chocolate and chai latte as they were way too sweet (in my opinion).

TIP: double check the opening days and times. At least when I came here they were only open for lunches during the week and closed during the weekends. They are also VERY buzzling and it might be difficult to get a seat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Patras, Greece
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“So nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Fresh, organic food. Not easy to find a place to seat, but it is worth the wait. Great salads, and soups. Free coffee refill!
The decor is really inviting and cosy!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent eatery for vegetarians and vegans!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

This is perhaps the only place I know of where Vegetarians and Vegans can actually eat a meal, rather than picking up on leftover ideas from the Chef. Excellent soups, interesting sandwiches (in two sizes, small and large). Nice selection of Desserts too.
We have been here atleast a dozen times in this past year, and have enjoyed every visit.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trosa, Södermanlands Län, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great for vegetarians.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Fresh and tasty food. Difficult to find a seat sometimes but worth waiting for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great organic food for a penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

This is a great lunch place, but Rost is also doing nice catering. We were here a Saturday around 11.20, and at 11.40, it was gobb smacked with people! The food is great, especially the soup and bread, but the room is very noisy and get extremely cramped. The toilet was clean. The staff are nice even though there were many people. What I dislike the most is actually all the families with kids, trying to hoover over tables and use the "can we get this table 'cause we have kids as you can see" attitude. Really bad, and the staff should do something about that: Like having a black board qeue system or similar.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rost Mat & Kaffe also viewed

Umea, Vasterbotten County
Umea, Vasterbotten County
 
Umea, Vasterbotten County
Umea, Vasterbotten County
 

Been to Rost Mat & Kaffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rost Mat & Kaffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.