We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local innovative food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Socialize

Socialize
Vasagatan 1, Umea 903 29, Sweden
090-777909
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 118 Restaurants in Umea
Cuisines: Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Organic, close-by and on-site farming! As Umeås first KRAV-certified restaurant, we take the full step towards a more earthy and natural kitchen. Instead of buying into anonymous goods and meats we act directly by farmers and producers in close connection with the city. A couple of kilometres from the city, we operate our own organic outdoor cultivation providing us with high-quality vegetables and root crops during summer, autumn and winter.We put a lot of energy into finding exciting drinks - both alcoholic and non-alcoholic - that fit into each dish on our seasonally changing menu. Again we prefer drinks where an organic and biodynamic thinking lies in the basis for production.We also bake bread and is completely self-sufficient for our restaurant. Our bread is made of 90-100% organic ingredients! Welcome to Socialize!
Boston
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Local innovative food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The menu had several choices that sounded interesting, making it tough to decide. The dishes were delicious, presented beautifully, and organic, with wine suggestions for those who wanted it. The cloudberry dessert is a must-have. Service was courteous.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    10
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Umeå, Västerbottens Län, Sweden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Meh..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I had a lamb burger. A piece of food I don't think you should be able to fail but it was dry, completely over cooked and uninspiring. The menu was promising but they didn't deliver. I will probably try something else here again tho just to be safe. I want this place to be good but it felt like a waste of money.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Underbar mat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We ate from the lounge menu, delicious lamb burgers from a local farmer for main course. The bun was home made sour dough which was really nice. We had tasty ostkaka and cardamom cake for dessert. The coffee was good enough, but not the best. There is room for improvement regarding the service. The waitresses didn't have an eye for what needed to be done in the dining area and it took a long time to get their attention.
I really recommend this place if you want tasty rustic local food. Just be sure to book a table since it can be crowded.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
“not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

over prized!! food was mediocre. I wish I would have gone to a different place.I was very disappointed. The startes were a joke. The bear meat was terrible. The only good thing was the the beverages like wine and beer. Other than that I did not like anything.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“good food, nice interiors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a red house on the riverside with a terrace. But when I visited we could only stay inside, which is white and ascetic. We were a large group (50 or so) but the service was quick and food excellent. I recommend especially fish, the meat dishes were copous but perhaps no so good. The extras were really tasty!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Socialize also viewed

Umea, Vasterbotten County
Umea, Vasterbotten County
 
Umea, Vasterbotten County
Umea, Vasterbotten County
 

Been to Socialize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Socialize, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.