We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic – and somewhat special” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Hotel Winn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Hotel Winn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Winn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Skolgatan 62 Vasaplan | PO Box 280, Umea 90106, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 hotels in Umea
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Basic – and somewhat special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotels associated to the Comfort Hotels chain (in Sweden) are rather basic hotels with a bed & breakfast concept. They do not offer you dinner restaurants, conference rooms, pool area and other things that you - as a ordinary guest - mostly do not need.

And that is perfectly fine with me, as long as the hotel is clean; the beds are comfortable; the employees are happy & service minded and the breakfast is good. And when even the room rate (incl. the breakfast) is at a reasonable level, I feel fine.

My stay at this hotel, this time (I have even stayed here before), was not something that gave me positive vibrations.
My room was far away from an affordable one. The rate I paid was SEK 1.420:-/night (equivalent to € 157 or USD 200). Plus SEK 120:- (€ 13 or USD 17) for parking the car in the basement.

When checking in, I found the young female clerk way too dashing. Her attitude; her stressful, controlling, know-all manner was rather unsympathetic.

The room I was given (#339), was really something! It is situated at the highest level, at the very top of the glass facade towards the entrance side of the hotel.
The room is surrounded by glass/windows on three sides…and the front side (towards the entrance/street side) had glass all the way from the floor up to the ceiling. Though, none of the windows could be opened.
I had the impression that I was staying in an incubator, or in a greenhouse. Therefore, it was even important to remember to use the curtains; otherwise the “whole” Umea population easily could study your movements in the room...

The temperature in the room was way too high for me - however, the thermostat for the air condition system was not the fastest one (or the simplest one to handle)….and it was (as I said) impossible to open one of the many windows to get some fresh air. In addition, the sound from the fan connected to the air system was not the most silent one (I noticed, when I went to bed).
The desk where to put my PC to do some work, was very tiny and at an impractical level.

However, the bed was nice and the bathroom modern and adequate (however, with a very small sink…which was fixed as low as only 70 centimeters (2,3 ft.) above the floor.

The breakfast (incl. in the room rate) is served at the hotel’s breakfast restaurant at the 1:st floor. It was clearly that this hotel is very popular among young people…i.e. students (and I am sure back-packers etc.). There were a lot of them during the breakfast. The few mid-aged guests didn’t really fit into the surroundings.
Though, the breakfast itself was quite good and with a nice range of cold and warm (bacon, scrambled eggs etc.) dishes.

My consisting impression is, that this hotel is put in position for, and focused on, rather young people. It is quite close to a youth hostel.

The geographical location of the premises is very good.

However; I did not like what I experienced…and I am looking forward to staying at another nice hotel in Umea during my next visit. I know of at least a couple of them...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, Manager at Comfort Hotel Winn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest - Thank you for your feedback! I will take it to heart and try and improve on the issues that you mentioned above, I sincerely hope that you come back and visit us on another occasion so that we can show you that we have improved. You are always welcome at Comfort Hotel Winn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    32
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
9
27
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Hotel Winn is a concept hotel with very modernist and somewhat clumsy furniture. the entrance is disconcerting with pink glass, but it directs you straight to the reception desk. The lobby is roomy and its specialty is free coffee/tea and sausages (knackkorv) all day long. Service is friendly and prompt. Rooms are midsize and the bed is comfortable, There is a strange glass desk which is too narrow but good for a laptop. Colours are rather extreme. What I would complain about is lightning (but this is true almost anywhere. There is no ceiling lamp and the existing lamps are weak.
The best part of the hotel is a very well thought of breakfast with only organic products. Lots of fruit and several alternatives for youghurt etc.. Very good bread.
The gym is well organized and has two running machines, one walking machine and one bicycle. Plus lots of weights. And it has a sauna which is warm in the afternoons and evenings. The only problem is that there is no place to change and if you have both sexes training, using the sauna may create problems. When I was there, I could do my training mostly solo.

Room Tip: There is a building under construction on the river side of the building so ask for rooms which open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Winn, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for the kind words! I will make a note of your suggestions and try to improve until next time, hope to see you back in Umeå soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The hotel is right in the city centre with bus stops outside the front door. Still it is quiet and beds are comfortable so you are guaranteed a good nights sleep. Staff makes you feel welcome and its a very relaxed atmosphere. There is free wifi and also a free snack (hot dog and coffee/hot chocolate) in the evening by the hotel lobby.

The brekfast is impressive considering the hotel's size. There is almost too much to chose from! The only thing that was a bit of a let down was the room itself as i had one that has not been refurbished. So nothing like the hotel pictures in ads.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Winn, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
I am glad to hear that you thought our breakfast was impressive! Make sure to ask for me when you return to Umeå so that i can ensure that your room lives up to the expectations as well! Have a great day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This member of Choice Hotels is newly refurbished and very nice hotel in a central location with friendly staff, fine Internet, and many organic items for breakfast. Rooms aren't big but well laid out. I would surely stay here again but things could be better.

We asked the reception to point us to the top attractions but they couldn't mention a single sight!! They did however provide us with a city map. The soap in the shower was empty, the window outright dirty, and the room was at ground level to a building site.

Room Tip: Order a room to the street (there are only city busses and not that many) or ask for a room on 2nd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilhelmina, Sweden
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Very service minded staff, and it's very nice to be greeted by a happy face everywhere in the hotel, at reception, breakfast, housekeeping! Garage inside the hotel, centrally located close to restaurants and pubs. Very close to one of the best in town, Viktoria. The conference center Folkets Hus i located just across the street and traveling by bus from the airport, it's a bus stop just outside the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kragero Municipality, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here several times. Modern rooms, good breakfast. Really nice with free hot dogs and warm drinks (coffee, tea, chocolate) in the lobby. A little dirt in the corners. Bus station is 10 meters from the entrance, perfect!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
170 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Well, six hours on the delayed train from Kiruna and it was 02.30 am when we arrived at the hotel. The third accomodation around this trip for me and my son (12 years). Party on the main street, loud music and lots of people around. The door was locked, but the nice young woman at the desk noticed us immediatelly. She secured us a room facing the rear side of the hotel, well done here.
The hotel looks oldfashioned from the outside, pictured the next morning, but the rooms are spacious, well designed and clean. Modern furniture, flat screen TV and calm, we had a good sleep there.
An early buffet breakfast the next morning, not that much on offer but everything what we need and ready to leave with no time to wait at the desk for the flight down to Stockholm-Arlanda.
Sure a recommendable place with 70.00 Euro´s only B&B for the two of us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Hotel Winn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Winn

Address: Skolgatan 62 Vasaplan | PO Box 280, Umea 90106, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Vasterbotten County > Umea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 hotels in Umea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Hotel Winn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Nordic Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Hotel Winn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Hotel Winn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.