We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy place in Umea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotell Pilen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotell Pilen to your Saves list
Hotell Pilen
Pilgatan 5, Umea s-903 31, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Umea
West Vancouver
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cosy place in Umea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed here for one night before heading to Vindeln. The grounds are lovely and the room was adequate. The self-check in was super efficient and the breakfast was good. The only downside was the water was not super hot and I love a hot shower when travelling!
The Hotell benefits from being more of a 'house' rather than a hotel. I also appreciated the help yourself system to more towels, tea etc. Thoughtful!
All interactions with staff were good as well!

Room Tip: I did appreciate having my own bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
1
6
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Forest National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011 via mobile

Stayed at the Pilen while visiting Umea for 5 days. Not town centre but easy 10 min walk into town.
What seriously impressed me were the friendly and helpful staff.
Room was OK but for the price it was great value. Breakfast and WiFi is included and weekend stays are even cheaper! I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colrado
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Umea is a very nice town and there are several hotels in the area. The Hotell Pilen is situated in a fairly quiet area, away from the main town square by about a 10-15 minute walk. The hotel was quite clean, the staff were very nice and helpful, showers were good (especially for Scandinavia). WiFi was pretty fast and very dependable - a big plus and the cost per day was reasonable. The downsides to the hotel were not a big deal, but worth listing. Walls were pretty thin and the bed that I had was decent but not great, so sleep quality was marginal. The only iron/board was attached to the wall in a dim hallway in another building - inconvenient, but acceptable. Breakfast was OK, but lacked variety - the same exact thing every day. Overall, the experience was good and the daily walk was welcome before and after work/meetings in the town square area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

Very nice rooms, clean and complete, the hotel has been refurbished since I last stayed in 2002, which is just as well because it wasn't up to much back then!

Breakfast was also fine, typical reasonably well assorted buffet.

Please note, not all rooms have en-suite facilities which I found a bit suprising for a hotel in this price category. Also not that much on site parking

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

Very nice hotel with charmingly decorated rooms and only a short walking distance from the center of Umeå.
Arrived during the weekend when the hotel was unmanned which meant that we had to check in ourselfs. But since this is handled very smoothly (instructions are given at booking and more detailed information is then available in the room), we still felt welcomed.
The breakfast selection was a bit limited, but in my opinion it contained all you need. Everything was very fresh and tasty.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for a shorter stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mjolby, Sweden
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

Very nice and comfy hotel with loads of personality. The room was nicely decorated and had a very cosy feel to it. Felt a bit like home really. The staff must have a very good eye for details since they have accomplished to create such a lovely atmosphere.
The breakfast selection is not the widest I have seen but it's compensated by the freshness of everything. Newly baked bread can never go wrong. The breakfast area was also very nice. Tranquil and as the room very nicely decorated.
Overall, a very nice little hotel and exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

I have been staying at hotel Pilen for several times the latest year since I travel a lot in my job. It always fells like I am coming home when I arrive at Hotell Pilen. Some of the rooms are quite small but all of the rooms a have stayed in is very nice decorated. It doesn’t feel like staying in a hotel room, it almost feels like staying in someone’s guestroom. Besides nice rooms I really enjoy to stay at hotel Pilen because of the friendly people hosting the hotel. In one occasion the manager droved me too the airport so that I didn’t have to walk in the rain to the airport bus!

  • Liked — The friendly atmosphere!
  • Disliked — Nothing that i can think of right now...
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotell Pilen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Pilen

Address: Pilgatan 5, Umea s-903 31, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Vasterbotten County > Umea
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Umea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotell Pilen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotell Pilen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.