We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for me” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aurora Sky Station

Aurora Sky Station
Stf Abisko Turiststation | Abisko, 98107, Sweden
+46 980 402 00
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Observatories/ Planetariums, Museums
Attraction details
South Pole
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Not for me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

The staff were helpful and friendly. There wasn't any flat surface (with the snowdrift) up on the mountain. Plus a load of people the day I visited, it was hard to find a suitable place to set up camera and take photos. If you go there to experience NL on a mountain top, that's fine. Otherwise, I prefer other places.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    6
    4
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Aurora sky station”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Abiska is one f te place where you can experience best Aurora Borialis. But the management is very poor. No guidance, safety of the place is awful. We were shoved and pushed into a chair lift and did not secure my leg on the foot rest. My leg was hanging All the way. It was cold and miserable. my whole leg we numb. Once went up the mountain, there were no one to give any information. The staff were more keen to take Aurora photos than helping the customer. No one was available to give assistance in dressing room. It was not alum for money. We did see some northern light. I saw better in Tromso, Norway. I will recommend someone owing o Abiska Aurora Sky station with open mind. Drinks for purchase was cold .

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fab trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

It was too cold to go up in the chairlift, but it didn't matter.
Obviously there's no guarantee you will see the aurora, but WE DID!!! I loved it.
Staff very helpful and friendly.
Nice food.
Great place.
Would love to go back.......

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A unique way to see the northern lights in Swedish Lapland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Once you have booked your place at the Abisko turiststation you stroll for 10 mins or so up to the base station at the foot of the Mt Noulja, where you are met by the friendly staff who give you a safety briefing and fit you out in a special arctic over suit and warm boots (but wear plenty of your own warm clothes underneathl!). You are then settled into your chair and whisked off up the mountain in the darkness - Wow! Roughly 20-30 mins later and 500m higher, you step off the lift and discover why the organisers claim this to be the best place in the world to see the aurora ... the view is fantastic. Looking north, on a clear night you can see for miles and miles over the snowy mountain tops, and if the lights are about, you're going to see them! Your chances are further helped by the fact that Abisko is Sweden's driest place and is also known for its lack of clouds. A tip for photographers; walk a little way from the lights from the lift (and the annoying flash bulbs of other visitors) or your pics will be light-polluted. If you get cold you can retire to the warm restaurant for a hot drink, where you can also take in the on-site aurora education room and learn about the Aurora occur from the knowledgeable young staff team. For me time flew amazingly quickly and all too soon it was midnight and time for the lift down to the valley. The only downer is the price (about £70 in Jan 2012), Oh! and the toilet is unheated! That said, it really was a memorable night.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aurora Sky Station also viewed

Abisko, Norrbotten County
Abisko, Norrbotten County
 
Abisko, Norrbotten County
 

Been to Aurora Sky Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurora Sky Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.