We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking in a Living Past” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Church Village of Gammelstad

Church Village of Gammelstad
Lulea, Sweden
Update attraction details
Ranked #1 of 8 attractions in Lulea
Type: Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Pavia, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Walking in a Living Past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

By the end of July and the beginning of August 2012, I and a friend of mine, we decided to film along the Midnight Sun Road. The starting point of this first session of shootings was the old Gammelstad - Church town listed in the UNESCO Heritage list. This old parish worth a visit for many reasons...one is that if you don't check your watch and forget some cars' engine buzz you feel walking in the past. The Church when we arrived was closed to visits, because in spite of economic crisis at the time there were several marriages scheduled all along the day. I didn't have the chance to get into but the friend of mine knew it from his childhood. We had a short meeting with a guide to learn a llittle about church's history and then we strolled along the old streets. Very interesting is the visit we paid to the nearby house museum where is possible to see old fashioned furniture and more of the times just bygone. We suggest to book in advance a guided visit which let you know more than you can draw by yourself. After, paying the visit to this church you can have a relax holiday at the near beach in Piteå, which is just some km away. Otherwise, you can do like us and discover the main attractions along the Midnight Sun Road, a well paved road that from here drive across the village of Jokkmokk, Gallivare, Jukkasjarvi, Kiruna, Karesuando, Hetta, Kautokeino, Alta till Nordkapp (North Cape)...Yes, it's a long driving but can you imagine visit it during the June-July period when the sun never set?

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    21
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A Beautiful and Fascinating Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My friends had a their wedding at the church in Gammelstad. I was unfamiliar with the Swedish tradition of "church towns". The Church and surrounding village are definitely worth the trip if your in the area. It deserves it's UNESCO status.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great to visit in winter too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We visited on a bright, sunny, but cold winter's day. A great morning out, easily reached from the centre of town by the bus which runs every hour from Smedjegatan. Both th church and the visitor centre were open, and the film show at the latter gave an interesting and very adequate introduction to the history behind the town. And the warming coffee at Margareta's Vardshus with it's quaint interior was a wonderful way to wait for the bus back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Gammalstad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I was fortunate enough to attend a lovely wedding at this stunning church in the centre of Gammalstad which is a very picturesque village and particularly so at this time of the year when everywhere is covered in snow. A fairyland setting.

Try the the local Artic Berry jam (åkebär).

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vindeln, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Unesco a go-go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Fascinating village, lovely to walk round, and we had an excellent multi-lingual guide. The residents allow you to look round their little houses. Museum explaining the history is very good. Best visited in the long summer days.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church Village of Gammelstad also viewed

Lulea, Norrbotten County
Lulea, Norrbotten County
 

Been to Church Village of Gammelstad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church Village of Gammelstad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.