We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nearly a gastro-pub with a library” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bishops Inn

Bishops Inn
Foreningsgatan 6, Kiruna, Sweden
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 20 Restaurants in Kiruna
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Connected to the Hotel Bishops Inn, but it is a full-scale pub and restaurant.
Kent. England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very nearly a gastro-pub with a library”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Mid-Winter in Kiruna is a pretty cold place and somewhere where you ask the locals where to eat. The choice given to us was the local burger bar which also did Chinese and Italian, or Bishop's Inn.
We made the correct choice and visited the latter. Service at the bar was attentive, accurate and friendly and the food was delivered to our table promptly. it was hot, well-cooked, tasty and, by Scandinavian standards, not expensive. We ate alongside a long wood-panelles dining/drinking area which looked very much like an olde fashioned library. Quaint and authentic and really very inviting. Unlike a previous traveller, die Reiselust...she just LOVES to travel, we found the place cheery, convenient with perfectly adequate food and could rfecommend it thoroughly... and the chips were just fine!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    29
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tournefeuille, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great place to eat or just have a drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We went there once for an evening meal : the people are really nice, and the food is fine.
We came back two days later for an afternoon drink : there is a specific area with books everywhere : it's so cosy ! :)
There is a lot of wood, which is very nice, and the music is really soothing.
A really nice place !

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun pub atmosphere, didn't actually eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I went to Kiruna for the first time at the end of December 2012. I went with a Swedish friend of mine (I am not Swedish) and in the three nights we spent in Kiruna, we were at the pub every night. Neither of us is a big drinker, either, but the atmosphere was just so inviting and fun that we wanted to go back for the company and not necessarily the drinks. There were many locals who approached us and talked to us, and after three days, we really felt embraced by Kiruna and that we were part of the group. If you are looking for a drink to stay warm, or just a friendly place in Kiruna to hang out, this is your place. (We can't vouch for the food, as we didn't eat there.)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benediktbeuern, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Find food elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Probably one should consider making a reservation, or arrive early on Friday or Saturday evening. The burgers we had were overcooked - well done - if one likes that. The french fries tasted terrible. And the staff is young and clearly not loving their jobs, and barely working. Great place for a beer or whiskey, if you can find a table or place at the bar.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A pint in a nice pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Popped in mid afternoon for a quick bite, as there are not that many eating spots open in the afternoon in Kiruna. Food was good, beer was better! Its not cheap but no where in sweeden is, but we had a decent meal so were happy. Went back on friday night around midnight and the place was buzzing so give it a go if your a night owl.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bishops Inn also viewed

Kiruna, Norrbotten County
Kiruna, Norrbotten County
 
Kiruna, Norrbotten County
Kiruna, Norrbotten County
 

Been to Bishops Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishops Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.