We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food to a nice price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Landstroms Kok & Bar

Landstroms Kok & Bar
Foreningsgatan 11, Kiruna 981 31, Sweden
0980-133 55
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 22 Restaurants in Kiruna
Cuisines: Bar
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food to a nice price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Great food, atmosphere and service. Try their burger, the best you'll find in town and the portions are big. A nice alternative to Camp Ripan and located in the heart of downtown as well.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    47
    8
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Amazing cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We visited here on our last night in Kiruna town centre and my friend treated me to a 'thank you' cocktail for organising our trip.
It was very expensive (around £15 pre cocktail) so we just had the one each. On saying that, they were beautifully made and if we hadn't of had to get up so early the next day we may have stayed for another.
The service from the staff was great and everyone was really friendly.
The bar itself is actually really stunning on the inside and has a fantastic atmosphere. Very dark, but cosy, and interesting. I loved the art work and the crows/ravens.

It is a lovely bar and worth a visit, but yes, it is quite expensive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
451 reviews 451 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 293 cities Reviews in 293 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
“Good, Pleasant but Quite Expensive?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I put a question mark by expensive. £85 for a main meal, a shared dessert and a couple of drinks is in my opinion very expensive. However when you see clearly local sami (by their black hair at least) people in there, even with children - maybe that is the normal price for eating out! In UK (Germany etc), one would have expected that meal to be half that.

Notwihstanding the previous statement it was a good restaurant. I had 'local' lamb and my wife a reideer cut - to be exact -
grilled filet of lamb – served with roasted garlic sauce, fried capsicums & deep fried rice cakes flavored with basil & parmesan cheese
fine sliced & cream stewed reindeer – stewed with porcini, served with lingonberries and potato purée
warm cloudberries – served with homemade vanilla ice

The staff were pleasant, the surroundings equable, and the service good.
http://landstroms.wordpress.com/

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Lovely and cosy atmosphere, delicious meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The reindeer meal was delicious, prices were a little steep for any tourist, but not the worst we encountered in Kiruna.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Friendly and busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

There were few choices of places to eat, so we opted for Landstroms. Although it was empty when we arrived it was soon full. Would have liked to sit in the conservatory, with massive icicles outside, but no room.
Food was good (reindeer), well presented, and quite expensive - but this is Sweden! Particularly liked my pudding with hot cloudberries.
Only sour note - bit of a rip-off to charge 20 kroner each to leave coats in the cloakroom - you're hardly likely to venture out in the town without a coat, so easy money for them. Have never had this charge before in Lapland.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Landstroms Kok & Bar also viewed

Kiruna, Norrbotten County
Kiruna, Norrbotten County
 
Kiruna, Norrbotten County
Kiruna, Norrbotten County
 

Been to Landstroms Kok & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landstroms Kok & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.