We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Artic Eden/Artic Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arctic Eden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Arctic Eden to your Saves list
Hotel Arctic Eden
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   Foraregatan 18 | Övre Norrmalm, Kiruna 981 39, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Kiruna B&B and Inns
Godalming, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Artic Eden/Artic Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel is very friendly, very warm, quiet and a short walk from the town and railway station. Excellent choices at breakfast, coffee, tea, hot chocolate and biscuits on hand all day in the lounge area of the hotel to help yourself. The rooms are extremely comfortable and spacious, plenty of room to store your outdoor wear. We were fortunate enough to stay in a room that had a whirpool bath, large shower and its own sauna. Unfortunately the nights we were there were spent out, so did not make use of the sauna. Neither did we make use of the hotel pool, sauna or gym, as we were out most of the day on activities. There are no telephones in the room, which we did not find a problem, our early morning call was a very civilised knock on the door! We had one evening meal in the restaurant with wine which was excellent and so was the service. The staff at this hotel make it worth visiting because they are friendly, helpful, polite and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    36
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
42
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This boutique hotel exceeded my expectation for comfort & friendliness. The rooms have extremely comfy beds, ample space for luggage, and a massage shower in the ensuite. All of these features were most welcomed after our one night stay in the nearby Ice Hotel. We ate in the adjoining Thai Restaurant (as we were tired of eating traditional Lappish food!) & the meals were well priced, tasty & plentiful sizes. There was also extensive food choices for those who don't like Thai (Burgers etc). The hotel has a tastefully decorated lounge area where you can enjoy a drink, or free tea/coffee & biscuits. The atmosphere is really cosy & laid back. We only stayed for one night but the woman at Reception was extremely efficient & helpful at making further travel arrangements for us. The only negative is that there is no elevator (I did see one, which must be for disabled/wheelchair use only), so we had to carry our luggage up one flight of stairs to our room. We didn't walk into central Kiruna so I can't comment on how far it is, but there is a small supermarket at the end of the street which is excellent for grabbing a few drinks & snacks & such. I would stay here again if it didn't matter that I wasn't in the heart of town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The hotel is much more cosy and comfortable than you would expect from the photos. The rooms are huge, with a separate wardrobe area as you enter, which is handy to keep all the bulky Arctic wear you will need and to change clothes for breakfast/activities/dinner etc. The bed was very comfortable, although it was two singles pushed together as others have mentioned. There was a TV and DVD player that we didn't use but we know that others borrowed DVDs from reception some evenings as there was not a lot to do in town.

The bathroom was great, possibly the fanciest shower I have ever taken with LEDs, rainfall and massage features, inbuilt radio and mirror.

We spent a fair bit of time reading in the lounge instead of the room as there was free tea, coffee and biscuits. The chairs were really comfy and the lounge was warm. It also created a nice social atmosphere. Reception would provide drinks but if you were after beer it was cheaper to go to the petrol station across the way and bring them across.

The breakfast room and restaurant was in a separate building but was very, very close - you could easily brave it with one layer and once you were there it was again very stylish and lovely. There was a fantastic range for breakfast: pancakes, bacon, eggs, cereals, cold meats, smoked salmon, fresh berry smoothie, juice, good coffee etc etc.

We ate in the restaurant and the Thai restaurant, both were excellent. We were given English menus in both restaurants and the staff spoke good English too.

The staff in reception were very friendly and helpful, giving recommendations of where to go, answering all sorts of questions and drawing directions on maps. They even recommended to some of the other people on our trip to go to the ski slope for the Northern Lights when they couldn't get to Abisko and they saw a great show (lucky things)!

Overall, it made for a magical trip in Lapland for the New Year break.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the Arctic Eden for two nights at the start of our trip. The hotel is a short walk from the main town centre. Our room was spacious and clean with nice large shower. Free coffee and gorgeous ginger biscuits were avaliable at any time in the guest lounge which made up for not having these facilities in the room.

All the staff we met were very friendly, helpful and were genuinely interested in our trip offering some good tips and guidance.

We booked several excursions with a local tour company (Kiruna Guideturs) and we were collected from and returned to the hotel reception making it really convenient way of exploring

You should definitely eat in their main restaurant which offered excellent food at Swedish prices! We had a starters of thinly sliced Elk meat and Bear patties. For our main the Reindeer Stew was simply delicious (think really good quality smoked bacon to give you an idea of flavour).

We chose not to eat at the Thai Grill despite the good reviews here as the menu was completely in Swedish and we found the atmosphere a little intimidating - this was the only time we felt like this for our entire trip. Instead we walked into Kiruna and ate at the Bishops Arms, yummy Moose burgers all round with some local ale and a brilliant friendly atomsphere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Well this was a first: when we got to our room it hadn't been made up/cleaned. I know that other people have used the room before me but I don't want a stark reminder of the fact. Almost as bad was the reaction of the receptionist who didn't look surprised and didn't offer an apology. Things got much better after that but I can't see beyond 3 stars for that sort of thing. It's a good location - halfway (10 mins walk) between the town centre and the ski slope, and seems to be in the nicer part of town (characterful, colourful old wooden buildings rather than the fairly ugly blocks towards the centre). The room was large with a great shower (rainshower plus jets plus radio!) and big TV + DVD player, but the double bed was 2 singles pushed together, which I'm not a fan of. After the dodgy start the receptionist was helpful in ringing round, booking cabs etc. There's no bar (surely every decent hotel should have one?) but you can buy alcohol from reception to drink in the lounge area (quite a decent place, with a little museum in the adjacent room). One other bug-bear: breakfast is in a separate building, which isn't much fun as it means walking through the snow (I came out in my socks and one layer, and had to go back to change!). Kiruna was a real disappointment - it was impossible to find a place to drink both on Sunday and New Years Eve. Even if they're open, you only seem to have a choice of 2 places in the whole area we walked round.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here August 7-8, 2012. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful; she gave us an excellent tip for a light lunch (Cafe Safari). Our room was very comfortable, actually a little bigger than the expected Scandinavian standard small room. Only complaint was the shower was very small, you needed to step out of it to dry. The included breakfast, in another building but convenient to hotel, was excellent with a good choice of breakfast standards and attentive service. The hotel is a short walk from downtown area and close to public transport. Beware of steep taxi fare to/from Kiruna airport (not the hotel's fault just a fixed fare all taxis impose, take bus to avoid).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here twice and enjoyed the Arctic Eden both times. The rooms were huge and the breakfast one of the best we have had in six months of around the world travel to date. The staff was friendly and helpful and even stored our bags while we trekked for a week between stays. The Thai restaurant next store is excellent as well!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arctic Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arctic Eden

Address: Foraregatan 18 | Övre Norrmalm, Kiruna 981 39, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Kiruna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kiruna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Arctic Eden 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Arctic Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arctic Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.