We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good atmosphere, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tavern

The Tavern
College Road, Denstone ST14 5HR, England
+44 1889 590847
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Denstone
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: 16Th Centuary Village Pub and Restaurant in the very pretty village of Denstone 10mins from Alton Towers , 30 mins from the Peak District . Serving quality , local produce, Real Ales, Fine Wines , Real Wood Fired Pizzas at Weekends .
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Having seen some iffy reviews, we had some trepidations but the pub proved very worthy of the good reviews. It's attractive on the inside and nicely decorated. The staff were very pleasant. We arrived 15 minutes before last orders for lunch but, despite having placed our order just after a large table party of about a dozen people, our food arrived within about 15-20 minutes. It was well presented and very tasty.

Recommended. We will definitely go again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    34
    10
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Try The Tavern at Denstone near Alton Towers. Lovely home cooked with without an overpowering menu. The Tavern is a very old coaching inn with a very clean & friendly atmosphere. The food is reasonably priced at lunchtime with prices to the eact £ not "£8.99" for example.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A quite exceptional pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

A real find, with good food and beer, a warm and welcoming atmosphere, and a very helpful, welcoming landlord.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Just go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Having often bemoaned the lack of decent food locally I am delighted to say that the Tavern ticks all the boxes.

I won't give a blow by blow account of our meal, suffice it to say that the menu was interesting, our choices were cooked to perfection and delicious and the Pedigree was to die for.

more importantly the people who run the place are genuinely friendly.

Fantastic food in a "proper" pub, does it get any better?

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

The Food at the Tavern is excellent. For the starter my wife had the Chicken Liver Pâté and I had the Black Pudding and Bacon. Both were really good portion sizes and very tasty. Some people may find the portion sizes too large but we had no trouble because they tasted so good. For our main meal we both had the Belly Pork, the best we have ever had, served on a bed of crushed new potatoes and white cabbage with a cream sauce. We did not manage a pudding but will forgo the starter on our next visit and try the deserts. They have good selection of beers, largers and wine. The staff are very pleasant but you may be in for quite a wait during their busy times.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tavern also viewed

Alton, Staffordshire
 
Alton, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.