We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing find Amazing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manor House Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manor House Farm
Save
You added Manor House Farm to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Quixhill Lane | Prestwood, Denstone ST14 5DD, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Christmas Keepers Cottage
Ranked #1 of 6 Denstone B&B and Inns
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing find Amazing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This place is a must if your staying around the area.
We were made to feel welcome the min we arrived to the min we left.
You want for nothing they have thought of everything, it's home from home, it's such a lovely property
Fantastic people thank you again

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hi.
Again a great thank you for your very kind words.Obviously we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us .It really does make it a all worthwhile when we get such genuinely excellent reviews.Thank you so much and we hope to see you both again at some stage in the future.
Best wishes Chris and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
67
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is 100% hands down a brilliant B+B that is truly warm in every way and full of charm!

This is the 3rd time i've been to Manor House Farm. Always a fab warm welcome by Chris and Margaret the owners. They have thought of everything. Nothing is too much trouble. Manor House Farm has the most amazing gardens that i have ever seen, it just keeps on going. They even have a tennis court and a croquet pitch!!! Its just so relaxing. It has an amazing feeling to it. Amazing breckie :D. Fab Cooks!!

This last time we stayed, me and my mate got stranded at Alton Towers in the pouring rain and cold as the taxi we ordered still hadnt arrived after an hour and half, phoned the B+B to see if we could get another taxi number as were are not from the area and fair dues Chris, the owner came to pick us up!! He came out of his way to help me and my mate. Not many B+Bs do that for their guests. Totally grateful and appreciative. Truly amazing in every way.

This B+B is defo worth the visit! Amazing!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Gem
Thank you so much for you superb review.As you know it is always great to have you and your friends staying with us.Seeing the drowned state you were in when i picked you up from Alton Towers i feel you should have rung us earlier.Certainly it was not the night for a late game of either tennis or croquet !!.
We are so pleased you love the garden which we also love,but it would help if Margaret and I had somewhat more idea of gardening,but it is a great way to relax
We look forward to seeing you when you visit theTowers next year and lets hope it is a much better day.
Best wishes Chris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Once we had managed to find the place (which is a bit of a challenge for the sat-nav!) we found a wonderful, quaint old house filled with antiques and character.
The room was charming, with a four-poster bed...and a four poster bath in the en-suite!!
Friendly staff, who made sure we had a lovely log fire in the lounge and an excellent breakfast, made the stay complete. We will be booking again soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you so much for yet another 5 star review,and very pleased you managed to out wit the Sat Nav.To be fair most times the Sat Nav works very well but for some reason the odd one will try to bring you in along a lane that is only fit for off roading. So.if you are asked by the Sat Nav to turn of the main road into a tiny lane at the top of the hill with no sign post Don`t as that lane gets quite tricky.The best routes to us are to be found on our website.
Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and very pleased you enjoyed the Log Fire which is a must at this time of year.
Best wishes Chris and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Booked their last room at very late notice and after a 3 hour drive in rainy, rush hour traffic were greeted by a gorgeous little farmhouse with a roaring log fire and lovely hosts.

Lovely little bedroom with everything you need for a nights stay. The owners managed to book us a table at the tavern pub (We walked there and back which took about 20 mins - chris gave us a torch) Lovely food and good beer.

Slept well and filled up on lots of yummy breakfast before leaving at 0920 for alton towers.

Would stay again if visiting alton towers in the future.

(As I booked at such late notice I didnt even think twice about the owners having animals....I know, I know.....dogs...on a farm...really you don't say?!!!! But... just to say I am allergic to dogs and did start to suffer but once I'd had an allergy tablet was fine. Just to let people in a similar position know that there are animals about!!)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear West Country Lass.
Thank you very much for taking time to review our property.
I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your very complimentary comments but we are obviously sorry you suffered from your dog allergy.
I know this can be a problem and we have tried to let everyone know we have dogs by putting several photos on the website.So hopefully it did not spoil your day at the Towers.
Thanks again and thank you for mentioning the dogs so as to worn fellow sufferers
Yours Chris and Margaret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We chose this place mainly because of how close it was to Alton Towers, but also because of it being a working farm. The room was traditional and cosy with lovely bath robes and a beautifully comfortable bed. The hosts were extremely welcoming and lovely to chat to. They made excellent recommendations for various pubs and restaurants in the local area. The farm was beautiful and the breakfast was made up of bacon and sausages from it- truly delicious. The owners dogs were great too.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our b/b and thank you so much for all your kind words.I am pleased to say that Penelope our pig has just had a new litter and is making a great job of rearing her young.Which will help with the breakfasts next summer.This sounds abit hard,but at least we know that they will have as good a life as possible with us.I do believe that happy pigs make the best bacon.
The dogs Fletch and Ted also asked me to thank you for adding them to your review.
Best wishes Chris and Margaret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Excellent b&b which is full of character and charm. Top quality service from the owners who made us feel right at home from the start. The food was top quality and is sourced from the working farm and local produce. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone open to something much different to a premier inn!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you so much for yet another very pleasing review. Penelope our sow has just produced another litter and i will be popping to see how her piglets are getting on after this reply.We try hard to keep supplying our own bacon and sausage which always seems to go down well.
But we must thank the local farm shop in Denstone who cure the Bacon for us and also make the sausages.
Thanks again for taking the time to send this review.Yours Chris and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I had the good fortune to stay at this lovely place when I visited Alton Towers. What a lovely place!

Gorgeous house, run by a lovely couple, who do everything in their power to make you feel right at home.

Everything was of a truly exceptional quality. The breakfast was gorgeous and plentiful and the rooms were luxurious and extremely clean.

Will be going to Alton Towers again, just so I can go and stay! Excellent!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you Thank you Thank you.
We do try very hard to make our guests very welcome which is why these reviews are so pleasing.
Thank you so much and we hope to see you when next at Alton Towers.
Best wishes Chris and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manor House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Farm

Address: Quixhill Lane | Prestwood, Denstone ST14 5DD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Denstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Denstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor House Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris and Margaret are proud to offer quality accommodation in our grade 2 listed farm house. 4 En-suite bedrooms, 3 with four poster beds. Oak paneled dining room where we serve excellent breakfasts with bacon and sausage from our own pigs and eggs from the free range hens. If you are looking for somewhere quite unique then look no further. A haven for the discerning holiday maker. Ideal for Alton Towers or Peak District National Park. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manor House Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.