We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique bed and breakfast experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manor House Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manor House Farm
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Quixhill Lane | Prestwood, Denstone ST14 5DD, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Self catering break
Ranked #1 of 5 Denstone B&B and Inns
Podimore
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“A unique bed and breakfast experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This b&b is set in a beautiful Jacobean manor and offers a delightful stay at an incredibly resonable price. The house is full of character and Chris has collected many antiques and curios that make for an interesting browse. Both Chris and Margaret are delightful and make caring, friendly but unfussy hosts.
Breakfast is excellent with home produced bacon and sausages. We wanted to stay again but they were fully booked so we recommend early booking to secure your room. A really worthwhile and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Some are bigger than others. Discuss with the owners before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and sorry that we were unable to accommodate you on your next trip to the area.We certainly enjoyed your stay and value your opinions. I was also pleased that you thought we were very reasonably priced and we look forward to seeing you both on your return next year
Yours Chris and Margaret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
64
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Thank you Chris and Margaret for a lovely stay. Can second everything that people have said about this place. It is a little gem. Very charming & cosy. Lovely place to relax away from the chaos of Alton Towers. Very reasonably priced & nice extras in the room (sweets, wine glasses, robes etc). Breakfast is lovely & nothing is too much trouble. Chris and Margaret have lovely dogs of their own but my favourite has to be their neighbour Dylan who has to be the biggest Labrador in the world!....Just one suggestion maybe...Is it possible that your website can have 'Directions from Alton Towers' added ? Thanks again, Gill & Mark Entwistle

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manorhousefarm, Manager at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.It was a great pleasure to have you both stay with us and i have passed on your kind words to Dylan.You are quite right he is enormous .He was extremely pleased with your comments as Ted and Fletch tend to get most of the write up`s
Also thank you for the suggestion of putting directions from Alton Towers on the web site.That is a very good idea and i will get it done.
Thanks again Chris and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratton Fleming, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just spent two nights with Chris and Margaret in their family room. The room was glorious a beautiful comfortable 4 poster bed and plenty of room for our two girls (6 and 8) with their own single beds. It really was a home from home experience. It was lovely to be sat around a large table with the other guests and enjoying good company with a lovely breakfast. The location was perfect for Alton Towers Theme Park and then the Water Park the following day. There was a roaring fire each evening which was perfect to sit in front of after a long day. We wondered around the farm meeting the pigs and cows which the girls really enjoyed. Our stay was faultless, we couldn't have asked for better hosts.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your very kind words.It is always helpful to get visitor reviews and we are delighted that you were all very happy with what we have to offer here and particularly pleased that your children enjoyed seeing the pigs and the cows..
Thank you again and we look forward to hopefully seeing you all again next time you are in the area.
Best wishes Chris and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Myself and my girlfriend have just spent a night and our only issue was we didn't book more nights. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave you're made to feel welcome, Chris and Margaret were excellent hosts and went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed.The area is beautiful, the bedroom was clean and the bed was one of the most comfortable we've stayed in. The breakfast in the morning tasted great and kept us going until lunch. I can't recommend Manor House Farm enough and will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words.It was great to have you both stay on your first anniversary , especially as you must have walked at least a mile to find us .I hope your day at Alton Towers went well and we look forward to meeting you both again at some time in the future.
Best wishes Chris and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorebridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just spent 3 nights with Chris and Margaret at their home. What a find. It was perfect. From the minute you arrive they make you feel like old friends. The bedroom we were in has everything you might need from tea and coffee to shoe polish. The 4 poster bed was the most comfortable hotel bed we have ever slept in. The sitting room was most welcoming with a roaring log fire to keep you warm. Loved how everyone sits together at the large dining table for breakfast.You get to know everyone, as for breakfast, superb. You dont have to eat again until dinner. Will be returning next time we are at Alton Towers.( only a couple of miles from theTowers) Thanks Chris and Margaret for a wonderful stay.
Gary and Dot

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you very much for your review.We are both very pleased to hear that you has such a great time and would love to see you again at some future date.Also very pleased that you enjoyed the way that breakfast is served on the one large table. It is great to hear the laughter that comes from the dinning room and wonderful to see guests getting on so well together
Best wishes Chris and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourton-on-the-Water, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

After researching into places for where to stay near the Alton Towers resort, I was pleasantly surprised to come across the Manor House Farm B&B for a romantic weekend away with my fiancée for her birthday. The location was ideal for us as we had planned to go to Alton Towers Theme Park on the Saturday and Alton Towers Spa on the Sunday. It was less than 10 minutes away from the resort and only 15 minutes from the local town of Ashbourne that made it a perfect short drive.

After speaking with Margaret and Chris before hand, I was impressed with their communication and attention to detail when it came to helping me plan a great weekend. Upon arriving we weren't disappointed; the grounds were huge, the house was spectacular and both Margaret and Chris were very welcoming, accommodating and let us check our stuff in the morning to help our timings for the day.

When we got back from our day at Alton Towers, we were looking forward to relaxing and the room certainly didn't fail to disappoint. We were stopping in the Red Room which was huge and had a very comfortable Four Poster Bed. One of the great things that you notice from walking through the main door to every room in the house is the presence and character of the building - everything from the antique furniture to the paintings made us feel so relaxed. The only thing for us, was that the shower wasn't a power shower, but this didn't hinder our stay in anyway and is only a personal preference for ourselves.

Breakfast at Manor House Farm was very sumptuous indeed. The produce is all courtesy of the pigs and chickens on the farm (for the bacon, sausages and the eggs), and it tasted delightful. There were plenty of fresh juices, cereals, yoghurt's and toast on offer, and Chris and Margaret were extremely attentive when it came to offering Tea and Coffee to us. We were staying alongside some other guests who often stay at the B&B and it was apparent to see that every time they stay it's always a 5* experience at Manor House Farm B&B.

Other great aspects of this quirky and characteristic location included the lounge that was full of amazing antique furniture and a huge fireplace. The roaring fire after a cold autumn evening was amazing to come back to, and again with the guests, we all sat around the fireplace and chatted for hours. The gardens around the B&B were stunning and we loved everything from the huge table and archways; that gave the place a Narnia sort of feel to the location. The dogs and cat were also very friendly and it was another reason that made this place feel so homely.

We would always recommend this B&B to friends and families who are either wanting a relaxing getaway as a couple or with friends. The hosts Chris and Margaret are both amazing, friendly and their attention to detail is exceptional. A wonderful, quirky and beautiful place that helped us leave with amazing memories of the area.

Room Tip: The Red Room was particularly beautiful, very spacious and the character of the room was fantastic w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you very much indeed for your excellent review.As i have said before it is very gratifying to get such wonderful comments and especially so when i see how many reviews you have taken the time to complete.Trusting your future plans go according to plan and thank you again for your kind words
Chris and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

It's not just the hosts who make you welcome - it's often the guests as well. On returning to Manor House Farm after a rather formal dinner at the JCB head office hospitality suite, we found a party in full swing with our hosts and nearly all the other guests enjoying a nightcap around the roaring wood fire. Now one thing I had never thought about was Civil War Battle Renactment - but there were two enthusiasts who told us everyting we needed to know but were previously afraid to ask. So instead of getting into our four poster bed at 1030 p.m. it was more like midnight before we retired and the conversation resumed over breakfast. Margaret and Chris are simply the best possible hosts if you are staying in the Uttoxeter area but move quickly - we've already booked our next stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your second 5 star rating.One of the things that we find most pleasing is when guests get on so well with each other and so it was a great pleasure that you both became instantly involved with the fire side banter.We look forward to your next visit but cannot guarantee such learned civil war info.But who knows! Wait for next weeks thrilling instalment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manor House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Farm

Address: Quixhill Lane | Prestwood, Denstone ST14 5DD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Denstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Denstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor House Farm 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris and Margaret are proud to offer quality accommodation in our grade 2 listed farm house. 4 En-suite bedrooms, 3 with four poster beds. Oak paneled dining room where we serve excellent breakfasts with bacon and sausage from our own pigs and eggs from the free range hens. If you are looking for somewhere quite unique then look no further. A haven for the discerning holiday maker. Ideal for Alton Towers or Peak District National Park. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manor House Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Manor House Farm to your Saves list