We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation & hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manor House Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manor House Farm
Save
You added Manor House Farm to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Quixhill Lane | Prestwood, Denstone ST14 5DD, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Manor House Farm News
Ranked #1 of 6 Denstone B&B and Inns
York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation & hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Great place to stay about 5-10 mins drive from Alton towers. Really accommodating and friendly hosts who are very passionate about looking after their guests. Stayed in the family room which was perfect for my wife and I and our two small children.

The two dogs, Fletch and ? are great with kids and are very much part of the charm of this unique and special place to stay. Will definitely return and will always stay here for our annual jaunt to Alton towers!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your review.It was a great pleasure to have you all stay with us.The other dogs name was Ted.In fact Fletch was very pleased that it was him who was remembered as he always feels that Ted gets the most attention !..So thanks again from us all.Chris Margaret Fletch and Ted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
68
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Staying at Manor House Farm is like being in a dream from a different time. The old and unique furniture is so special! Chris is a very friendly host - honestly, it could not be better! Good breakfast, clean room, beautiful garden to relax and a comfortable bed (which makes you feel like being a duchess).
I will come back to this lovely place in the middle of the wonderful Peak District.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
criffer, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your very kind review.It was very pleasing to get your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Set your sat nav on the postcode and it will take you strength to the enterance. You come into the yard though the barn. On your right you will see a carved stone wild boar, which is one of the many architectural features which make up the Manir House's many 'roomed' garden. Discover the summer house in a railway cartridge, with comfortable sofas and arm chairs. Also find another summer house made from the spire of the old Sheffield hospital.
Follow the path to the right and the front of the house, but the hosts should come out to welcome you as they did us.
Once in the house you will see pictures and furniture which match the Jacobean House's pedigree and vintage.
The drawing room is like a dickens stage set, and you may expect to see an ancient character sitting in one corner.
Upstairs you will find your room beautifully furnished with four poster bed (and bath!). The floors are lined with exhotic Persian carpets and the walls lined with attractive and interesting prints and paintings.
There are nice walks along the lane and your hosts run the farm which guests are welcome to visit.
Other guests said it was conviniently close to the roller coasters at Thorpe park and that they had been horse riding locally as well.
Dont miss out on the cooked breakfast with eggs and bacon from the farm's chickens and pigs.
Don't miss the Manor House, it's a gem.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
criffer, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your review.I notice that you have reviewed several other properties and it is extremely pleasing to get an excellent write up from someone with your experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in family room with our little boy and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. He loved playing with the teddies :)

The room was beautiful, as was the whole house and garden. Breakfast lovely. Hosts extremely friendly and helpful.

We didn't have time to do everything we wanted, so are already considering when we can go back and stay with them again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and we were welcomed as if we had known Chris and Margaret for a long time, you were made to feel at home and Couldn't wish more for a peaceful surrounding . Beautiful cooked breakfast in the dining room each morning.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have just spent 3 nights at this B&B from 17th-19th July whilst we went to Alton Towers. This B&B is truly a fantastic place to stay. First of all, the house is full of charm and character - with lots of antiques and nooks to explore - even the outbuildings have little museums to investigate! The four poster bed was brilliant and little touches like fresh milk in your room are really good. Next, the gardens are absolutely beautiful - i loved exploring it all - and, just as you think you have come to the end, another garden appears! I cannot believe the owners look after this all by themselves - it is impressive to say the least! Thirdly, the owners - Chris and Margaret - are wonderful people. They are so welcoming and friendly; you are made to feel at home from the moment you arrive.They encourage you to explore the grounds and they are never far away if you do need to contact them. The breakfasts were also fantastic - with a wide range of food to choose from. The full English breakfast is a must! All in all, i had a very comfortable, relaxing, enjoyable stay at this B&B and if i was back in the area, i would definately stay here again. The price of the rooms are unbelievable value for money....it really is a bargain - especially when you get so much included in your stay. Perfect!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

From the moment we arrived we couldn't stop smiling. Chris and Margaret made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble. There were lots of little touches that made all the difference. The house itself is amazing with all its antique furniture and the grounds conceal all sorts of surprises - don't miss a wander round them.

The breakfasts were huge and we loved the fact all the guests share a table. We spent about an hour and a half chatting to the other guests over breakfast and only left as he we had to check out.

The farm itself is in the middle of beautiful countryside and with very few houses nearby. We went for an hours walk down the local lanes and saw one car during that time.

At the end of the stay we were so relaxed and, as others have said, didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manor House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Farm

Address: Quixhill Lane | Prestwood, Denstone ST14 5DD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Denstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Denstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor House Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris and Margaret are proud to offer quality accommodation in our grade 2 listed farm house. 4 En-suite bedrooms, 3 with four poster beds. Oak paneled dining room where we serve excellent breakfasts with bacon and sausage from our own pigs and eggs from the free range hens. If you are looking for somewhere quite unique then look no further. A haven for the discerning holiday maker. Ideal for Alton Towers or Peak District National Park. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manor House Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.