We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible welcome and friendliness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windy Arbour Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windy Arbour Farm
Save
You added Windy Arbour Farm to your Saves list
Hollis Lane, Denstone ST14 5HP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Denstone B&B and Inns
Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Incredible welcome and friendliness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I was overwhelmed by the warm welcome and friendliness that I received - including being collected from the Railway Station at Uttoxeter, and given a lift to the pub in the evening. The rooms are very comfortable, the breakfast excellent, and the price remarkably reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of October 2012. Lovely place, lovely people, lovely breakfast. We were looking for peace and quiet and a good walk and we found all three, with a lovely walk along a disused railway line. Our hosts were very accommodating and even drove us to the station on our departure. We shall certainly return!

Peter and Kathy

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed for one night on the 26th October after we had visited Alton Towers. As the rides were open until 9pm the owners were very accomodating in letting us check in later. We stayed in the English room - it was really nicely decorated and felt very homely. You can also sit in the snug area or borrow DVD's to take up to your room which I thought was a anice touch. They really do think of every detail. The breakfast was superb. You got plently to eat and it was all freshly made. You could even help yoursefl to cereals, fruit and yogurt! A choice or apple and orange juice was already waiting on the table. Although the B&B was fully booked up we was the only ones in the dinning room which was in the conservatory. It is in a lovely setting and my only complaint was that we didn't have enough time to explore the area! I would highly recommend this B&B especially if you are going to Alton Towers as it's only a 10 minute drive. Hopefully we will be back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Well all we can say is SUPERB. Lovely location away from it all. We stayed in the gothic room which was an interesting experience with its different decor. They have thought of everything, with tea, coffee and hot chocolate in your room.You can even borrow dvds to watch if you want to. The gardens are just perfect and I did try to get them to come and do mine!! The owners were so cheery it made you feel the same. Round each twist and turn in the cottage there was another surprise waiting, not least Dave`s wall in trubute to the wonderful Bob Marley. Breakfast was FANTASTIC, we werent hurried or rushed. The food was freshly cooked to order and the portions were fab!! The staffordshire oatcake was a lovely touch. Nothing was too much trouble. It was lovely having both orange and apple juice and fresh water served too!! All we can say is THANK YOU SO MUCH. You made our cycling trip GREAT.

Room Tip: Lovely quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Three friends and I stayed one night at Windy Arbour in September 2012 during a two day visit to Alton Towers theme park. We have a fantastic time and could not recommend the place highly enough. The hotel is accessed via some narrow but quiet country lanes and is set stop a small hill, with wonderful views of the surrounding fields. We stayed in the ‘Japanese’ and ‘Library rooms’ within the old farmhouse, which were clean, tidy and comfortable, like the rest of the hotel. The owners, Dave and Gill, were friendly and accommodating without being overbearing. They recommended a fantastic pub for dinner and even offered to collect us in the evening due to the lack of local taxis. Breakfast the following day was fantastic and much needed after a late night at the aforementioned pub! We would definitely go back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We booked the Peacock cottage for 5 of us during our Alton Towers trip - was easy to find using the satnav and the place was really well kept. Everywhere was tidy and the garden looked nice.

The Peacock cottage was perfect - lots of space and clean. The owners were very friendly. The cottage is perfect if your heading to Alton Towers - it's about a 5-10 minute drive away.

If your looking for a really good place to stay at good value then look no further!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed last weekend whilst visiting Alton Towers, what a treat! It was a lovely stay from start to finish. The hosts dave & gill were very welcoming and friendly and very interesting to chat with. The rooms were good with lots books and reading materials, lovely linens with spotlessly clean bathroom and throughout. Had a great view out across the wheat field, a delightful sight on a beautiful sunny morning. Breakfast was fantastic with such a vast choice, served in the fab conservatory overlooking the stunning gardens. Everything about the place was simply delightful. The whole of the property is beautiful, homely and is a joy to be in and around. We only wish we could have stayed longer and enjoyed the outside space too. I will deffo be booking again but will probably try one of the self catering barns next time. Thanks For helping us end our summer hols with a great stay with impeccable hospitality including the best full breakfast I've had in a very long time. First class !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windy Arbour Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windy Arbour Farm

Address: Hollis Lane, Denstone ST14 5HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Denstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Denstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Windy Arbour Farm Hotel Uttoxeter

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windy Arbour Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.