We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend staying here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windy Arbour Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windy Arbour Farm
Save
You added Windy Arbour Farm to your Saves list
Hollis Lane, Denstone ST14 5HP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Denstone B&B and Inns
Surrey UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Recommend staying here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

My partner and I stayed here May 2010 for his birthday as we wanted to do some site seeing and visit Alton towers

Alton towers = 10 minute drive

Really nice inside the Bouquet Cottage, has two twin beds downstairs and up the ladder it has matresses together. Kitchen fully equipt with all you need, TV downstairs. As you could cook you don't need to go out for dinner much, but if you do there is a near by Frankie and Benny's. Supemarkets are about 10 minutes away there is a tesco and a lidl.

Great location for touring round visiting the sites suchas the stepping stones, abraham heights.

Weather in May was cool so didn't do much sitting outside but there was a lovely seating area with a BBQ. Benches and surrounding gardens with lovely views.

All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

Windy arbour

We stayed in the Peacock Cottage for two nights in August 2010 while we were visiting Alton Towers. What a wonderful place to stay, everything about our stay was fabulous, the accommodation, the locationa nd most of all the hospitality by the owners Dave and .Gill. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they made you feel so at home.
The accomodation was very well equipped and clean and tidy
Steve and Julie Green

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

We went back to Windy Arbour for 3 nights while visiting family. We have been before, but this time opted for the peacock cottage instead of the classic room in the farm as their were more of us. It is very cosy with plenty of space for everyone. (sleeps up to 8 people, we were only 3!). Nicely done out and spotlessly clean. We had breakfast in the farmhouse which was as before the best breakfast available anywhere!! Freshly cooked with a wide choice of cooked items, plenty of cereals, fruits and yoghurts. Amazing!!!
The owners are very welcoming and kind too. What more can you ask for. Go their and enjoy for yourselves, but don't tell everyone, coz there won't be any room for me!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Lovely farmhouse with great views, Ideally located for Alton Towers which was 10 mins away. Gill and Dave were great hosts and were so friendly, the breakfast in the morning was fantastic. We stayed in the Library room which had a double and a single bed and ensuite shower room. I spent some time looking at the collection of books and even found some original Eagle Annuals !! I would recommend Windy Arbour to anyone and will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed her for 2 nights in the Old English room whilst going to Alton Towers, it was in a fantastic location to reach Alton Towers and the scenary surrounding the house was spectacular.The room was comfy and came equipped with a TV, DVD, teas and coffee facilities. We had a very comfy nights sleep and used took a dvd with us to watch in the evenings. The breakfast in the morning was lovely and very filling. Unfortunately the weather was rubbish on the day we went to Alton Towers but owners (who's names escape me) did not hesitate in offering waterproof jackets that they had spare, which came in very handy!! I would definately recommend the local pub (The Tavern) in Denstone and I think it was called the Bulls Head in Alton, both served delicious food!
Loved staying here, and was very reasonable for £50 for 2 adults per night!! would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Wonderful, clean, quiet, fantastic hosts, excellent location for Alton Towers, great views, really nice room, great breakfast. Can't praise enough. Will definately be staying again and recommending to friends.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

we stayed here after a trip to alton towers with my partner and our 10 month oild baby, our 2 friends and their 2 boys( 10 and 13) . i have visited hotels all over the world (5 star included) and have never stayed anywhere as nice as here! rooms are lovely, clean and welcoming, breakfast is fantastic, but to top it all off the owners are outstanding! they even drove us into the village for a meal, and then picked us up again after it! very welcoming place, i will definately be going back! save yourself some time and dont bother reading other hotel/guesthouse reviews, stay here! you will not regret it! Thankyou for such a nice stay . see you again! x

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windy Arbour Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windy Arbour Farm

Address: Hollis Lane, Denstone ST14 5HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Denstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Denstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Windy Arbour Farm Hotel Uttoxeter

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windy Arbour Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.