We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fabriken Furillen

Fabriken Furillen
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fabriken Furillen to your Saves list
Fabriken Furillen
Furillen, Gotland 620 34, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 46 Gotland B&B and Inns
Qatar
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A different experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This is a different kind of hotel, not like any other, one of its kind, located in a very beautiful place in Gotland Island.

We stayed in it for 2 nights and had a totally different experience, the breakfast is excellent, we booked the large suite (VAG) which was great, the hotel has free bicycles to grab and use, and daily cleaning service, it also has access to the beach.

The hotel is more about the experience of the stay and enjoying the area so don't expect food room service, AC in the room or a concierge like the hotels in cities, the staff are very nice especially the lady at the reception and the two guys that works in the restaurant in dinner time.

The only tip I have is that this hotel is not suitable for kids, but it is excellent for singles or family without kids, this is because it's a bit in a remote area, plus there is no rooms service so it's difficult if you need something urgently.

I fully recommend it if you want to relax, try something new and enjoy the beautiful area.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

A different experience, Furillen is all about concrete, limestone and glass. During autumn and winter when also the skies turn grey the palette is strangely one handed. Its a place to do little, read books and take a walk and see the surrounding grey rock and sea. Facilities are few except for a selection of old bicykles. Food is great but slow, breakfast is a highlight. Stay for one or max two nights as a couple or small group of friends to recharge your batteries.

Room Tip: Rooms are all minimalistic and "bare" excpet for a few well chosen items like the confy be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Fabriken Furillen is a hotel like no other. Completely true to the minimalistic Scandinavian style with Hastens beds, sheep skin carpets, wool blankets and an industrial ambience, which is cosy in it own rough way.

We stayed at the Studio a 95 m2 apartment with room for four people and a huge living space. The breakfast buffet is out of this world good, and staff members super helpful. The hotel offers complimentary bicycles, so you can explore the island. We also had dinner in the restaurant, and the food was very good.

Only danger of staying here is that you will never make it to the rest of Gotland, because you will not want to leave...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed June for two nights. Nordic design with all the comforts in a simple but beautiful setting nearby the ruins of a former limestone quarry. Nature has begun the inexorable reclamation of the site which stands on the Baltic Sea with bicycle trails of crushed limestone that can be accessed by the free bicycles provided by the hotel. Quiet as the moon. Contemplative. Great complimentary breakfast, the best I had during my entire stay. Attentive but inconspicuous staff. If you like Donald Judd and have been to Marfa Texas you will be at home. The location in Gotland and travel to Faro Island are simple and quick. We felt the experience was the highlight of our trip.10/10 experience

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

You feel on a moon landscape!! Is a very relaxing eco hotel with Scandinavian design (Handmade beds from Hästens) . Life is So calm here!
The hotel offers free bikes to enjoy the great surroundings.
We LOVE Love the breakfast buffet!! with fresh bread at the hotel and homemade jam, eggs from their own chicken, and other delicious things, breakfast facing the Baltic is priceless!!

Room Tip: We stay at the The Weighmaster's suite, perfect if you want privacy, silence and be very close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This place takes you with simple charm, surroundings are exeptional,
The restaurant serves more than excellent food, breakfast also stands out.

I bit expensive i would say it is. Rooms are a bit too simple, we miss a clock, a radio, music system, and also, there is a cheap soap, no shampoo, no balsam, AND THE MOST worthless piece of toilet paper I ever have experienced. This is not what you expect when u pay 200euro and more a night. Service level should be taken up a notch,

Will go back,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Furillen is a truly special hotel and you can read about it fancy magazines from all over the world but please set your level of expectations on a decent level before going there. The hotel and environment is fantastic. The food is excellent but since we stayed for 2 nights, more than 2 main courses would be good to be able to choose from. The rooms are special but since my wife enjoys to read late in the evening and I enjoy to read early in the morning, yes a reading light would be good.

Have in mind this is a small hotel. Also arrive early in the morning, spend your day in the surroundings, have a great dinner and night and leave the day after. 1 night is good enough.

Room Tip: Choose a room with sea view. If you are up for more interesting sleeping places choose the eremite c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fabriken Furillen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fabriken Furillen

Address: Furillen, Gotland 620 34, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Gotland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Gotland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Fabriken Furillen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fabriken Furillen Gotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fabriken Furillen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.