We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Post-modern ruins” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fabriken Furillen

Save Saved
You added Fabriken Furillen to your Saves list
Fabriken Furillen
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fabriken Furillen
Furillen, Gotland 620 34, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 49 Gotland B&B and Inns
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Post-modern ruins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed June for two nights. Nordic design with all the comforts in a simple but beautiful setting nearby the ruins of a former limestone quarry. Nature has begun the inexorable reclamation of the site which stands on the Baltic Sea with bicycle trails of crushed limestone that can be accessed by the free bicycles provided by the hotel. Quiet as the moon. Contemplative. Great complimentary breakfast, the best I had during my entire stay. Attentive but inconspicuous staff. If you like Donald Judd and have been to Marfa Texas you will be at home. The location in Gotland and travel to Faro Island are simple and quick. We felt the experience was the highlight of our trip.10/10 experience

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

You feel on a moon landscape!! Is a very relaxing eco hotel with Scandinavian design (Handmade beds from Hästens) . Life is So calm here!
The hotel offers free bikes to enjoy the great surroundings.
We LOVE Love the breakfast buffet!! with fresh bread at the hotel and homemade jam, eggs from their own chicken, and other delicious things, breakfast facing the Baltic is priceless!!

Room Tip: We stay at the The Weighmaster's suite, perfect if you want privacy, silence and be very close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This place takes you with simple charm, surroundings are exeptional,
The restaurant serves more than excellent food, breakfast also stands out.

I bit expensive i would say it is. Rooms are a bit too simple, we miss a clock, a radio, music system, and also, there is a cheap soap, no shampoo, no balsam, AND THE MOST worthless piece of toilet paper I ever have experienced. This is not what you expect when u pay 200euro and more a night. Service level should be taken up a notch,

Will go back,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Furillen is a truly special hotel and you can read about it fancy magazines from all over the world but please set your level of expectations on a decent level before going there. The hotel and environment is fantastic. The food is excellent but since we stayed for 2 nights, more than 2 main courses would be good to be able to choose from. The rooms are special but since my wife enjoys to read late in the evening and I enjoy to read early in the morning, yes a reading light would be good.

Have in mind this is a small hotel. Also arrive early in the morning, spend your day in the surroundings, have a great dinner and night and leave the day after. 1 night is good enough.

Room Tip: Choose a room with sea view. If you are up for more interesting sleeping places choose the eremite c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fabriken Furillen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fabriken Furillen

Address: Furillen, Gotland 620 34, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Gotland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Gotland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Fabriken Furillen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fabriken Furillen Gotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fabriken Furillen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.