We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go here if you feel the need, otherwise look further” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Du Vigneron

La Maison Du Vigneron
Route Nationale 51, 51160 Saint-Imoges, Epernay, France
03 26 52 88 00
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Utrecht
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Go here if you feel the need, otherwise look further”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We passed this restaurant on the way from Reims to Epernay. This place is a little like Faulty Towers. A waiter that is smiling through a mask, pushes you away if he need to pass you and you ask for things twice or three times, in perfectly French off course. Otherwise the waiter is correcting your pronunciation.
The menu is just on average and we enjoyed the cheese platter the most, good temperature. Watch closely what the waiter points out because the explanation is very fast, in French off course.
Go here if you feel the need, otherwise look further.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    7
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We chanced upon the restaurant on travelling between Epernay and Reims on the Champage route. What a discovery! We had a delicious 'degustation' meal with many different courses, including foie gras, goose and creme brûlée. The service was excellent - and we would definitely return and recommend La Maison du Vigneron.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bleahhhhh”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

The starter was so bad we left before the main course and we still paied 40 euros ... Which included half bottle of white wine....
Bleahhhhh

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

I decided to come off the motorway for a while on my way back from Italy to the UK. I drove on quiet country roads in pleasant Champagne country scenery aiming for Saint-Imoges.
The reviews of this restaurant have been very variable, but I found it very good. It's quite large, and I imagine service could be difficult if it's full, but when I was there it was about half full, and everything was fine.
The 33 euro menu, plus 2 glasses of wine and coffee ended up at 48 euros, but I thought that it was worth it.
It's interesting that the bad reviews seem to be from French people, because I have become very disillusioned with eating in France over the last few years. The night before, for instance, I had gone without supper in Bourg en Bresse because I simply couldn't find anywhere acceptable. The Maison du Vigneron reminded me of how we used to eat on many enjoyable French holidays 20 years ago.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Stunning Restuarant between Reims and Epernay in the Champagne Region”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Took a spin one Saturday from Paris up to the Champagne Region and when travelling from Reims to Epernay my very wise significant other spied a restaurant just off the main road, in some trees with many cars parked. Good sign - so in we went. Looks ike a modern building from the outside but full of wooden beams, stone fireplaces and linen tablecloths inside.
The service was absolutely impeccable - they could speak but a few very sparse words of English - quite rightly because they were French and we were foreigners in their land. It was a Saturday afternoon and the place was stuffed full of large tables of French. Another good sign.
You can eat a la carte or you can opt for one of the 3 set many course menus. We opted for the 45 Euro version of that. It was absolutely stunning! Home made foie gras, smoked salmon, melon plate cleanser, scallops, sorbet, venison, cheese and cafe gourmand ( a mini selection of all sweets on the menu).
Every course was a taste sensation, beautifully presented on a vast array of different crockery.
The whole experience was totally faultless. So the food bill was 90 Euros but the total bill was 180 Euros. But we had a bottle of Veuve Cliquot at 60 Euros - we knew that was a huge mark up but that is our signature champagne and we could not go to the Champagne region without having that. The other 30 Euros was frittered on a half bottle of red wine, 2 coffees and a Champagne armagnac.
So if you don't drink as much as we did you can much reduce your bill. However, if you are in the Champagne region and want a meal to remember - I can't recommend this restaurant enough!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Maison Du Vigneron also viewed

 

Been to La Maison Du Vigneron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison Du Vigneron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.