We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Evening at the Bull Great Totham” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bull at Great Totham

Save Saved
You added The Bull at Great Totham to your Saves list
The Bull at Great Totham
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bull at Great Totham
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   2 Maldon Road, Great Totham CM9 8NH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Great Totham B&B and Inns
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic Evening at the Bull Great Totham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We hosted our annual cricket club dinner for 60+ at the Bull in Great Totham. The evening went superbly and was a resounding success with everyone I spoke to having thoroughly enjoyed themselves!
David and the team looked after us a treat and really made a big effort in turning our occasion into an event with a dance floor and live singer and a terrific 3 course meal. Thank you for a cracking evening and we look forward to more of the same next year!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    11
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
19
20
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

me and wife came to eat out after reading some good reviews, but personally i would not listen to those reviews. we arrived to the willow entrance and yes looked very nice, nice decor and seats where you could wait. To our surprise though, it was absolutely dead, not even a waiter or waitress came to welcome us, one waitress even walked passed us, not even a hello, welcome, nothing, so we tried to get her attention, finally where able to get seated, but then just left again???? we did feel we need to leave and go else where but thought as made an hour trip would stay and give them the benefit of trying. To get to point, we must of had 3/4 different waitresses, the starter took ages to arrive and yes once arrived was very good, but very small!!
We where not even asked if we would like a drink, we had to keep trying to get there attention as they where in all in huddle chatting to each other, we thought its not even busy so how an earth would they cope with a crowed!! that's if this place gets busy???
our main finally arrived and yes very good. After our mains which my wife had sea-bas which was the smallest bit of sea-bas we have ever seen served, and hardly any vegetables ( we both laughed and thought it was such a joke!!) we asked for see the desert menu, when arrived both me and my wife could not believe how small it was, and for how long how to wait yet again, was a disappointing.
the whole experience of the willow was very deflating and a shame as could be so nice if the staff where trained properly and new how to look after guests. Also when the bill came was amazed how much it came to!! We have eaten in a lot of restaurants in the passed, and some have only paid near half the amount we paid and had a far better experience.
We will not be returning to the bull, the willow again or recommending it, its a shame the decor and the quality of the furnishing is not matched with the service and food.
We are not ones to complain or like complaining , but wanted to warn anyone prior to going to eat out at the willow to not waste your time or money, yes go for a drink there, or a bit to eat in the pub, but the willow is huge let down!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Owner at The Bull at Great Totham, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Ben of Chelmsford, thank you for your review, as the owner i am concerned about some of your claims from your review, on further investigation i would dispute a number of facts you have stated on trip advisers web site.

We have CCTV throughout the building and a very intelligent till system which allows us to check times when meals were served and delivered to tables our CCTV system was installed on the advice of the local police and again this is available to view at any time.

Firstly you arrived at 18.52 you did sit in the reception area for two minutes i also agree a member of staff did enter the room however as you were sitting behind the door she came through she of course did not see you, when she noticed you you were shown to your table at 18.54, some two minutes after entering the building.

Once at your table you were asked if you would like a drink, you ordered a pint of IPA Gold and a Martini and lemonade this was bought to your table at 18.59 when the menus were left with you to view.

You mention the restaurant was dead, we only open at 19.00 hours and you were the first to arrive hence why the restaurant would have been empty, we served over 55 covers in The Willow Room that night for your information a umber of these tables arrived after you left at 21.05.

You indicate how slow the food was in being served, when dinning in an establishment like ours we feel that the experience should not be rushed, your meal from start to finish took less than 2 hours When my staff checked back on your table during the meal you even mentioned to our staff that this was a night out without the children if you had said at the time of ordering you needed to be out by a set time we would of course ensured your meals were served quicker.

The portion sizes you mention do surprise me the Sea Bass is a 400 gram portion and is served with confit new potatoe and fennell, additional side orders are of course available, i am sorry if you were expecting a larger portion, i do hope the 12 oz haddock you had was large enough, i am pleased that you did enjoy the quality.

As a two rossette restaurant we are checked by The AA they have never mentioned anything about the portion size, in fact they have just revisited and awaded us the same status for 2013 which is the highest they have awarded in the whole of Essex to any establishment..

You mention the cost of your meal I would like too remind you that 45% of your bill was for alcohol, the actual cost of your a la carte meal was £56.80p which does include 20% VAT .for a three course meal is very resonable i feel compared to other restaurants of the same standard.

We never like to have our customers leaving unhappy and i would very much like the opportunity to discuss my response and your commentsand of course would be delighted to hear from you. As you only live in Chelmsford some 15 minutes away perhaps you will allow me to buy you and your wife a glass of wine and discus my response and your review in the near future.

Thanks

David M Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have enjoyed many dining experiences at the Bull and Willow Rooms over the past two years and have never been disappointed. I have enjoyed casual meals with friends, quiz night bar meals, cabaret evenings, gourmet evenings and celebrating special events. Whatever the occasion I have been delighted with the well presented, delicious food that has been offered. The menu changes regularly and offers both family favourites and dishes that are a little different.

I thoroughly recommend the international themed evenings. My husband and I booked the Italian evening and were astounded at the good value - a three course meal and ample glass of wine all for just under £20.00. Where else could you dine in such elegant surroundings for this value?

Our thanks to all at The Bull for providing us with fine food, good entertainment and friendly service over the years.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, null, Nepal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I had booked for the themed Italian evening on thursday evening , and we thoroughly enjoyed the 3 course set menu, which included a glass of wine, all for under £20.00.
The presentation and quality of the food, with the Willow Room ambience, were excellent and the table service was faultless.

So in Italian:
Puo consigliarmi un buon ristorante. Si, The Bull at Great Totham.
Molte Grazie

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This being the second venue I looked at he hold our wedding reception. I walked in and when I left I knew this was where I wanted. From day one the staff have been really helpful. Our wedding day was made perfect by the lovely setting, the gardens, the accommodation, the food, and most of the staff!! A 5 star service was provided to me and my husband throughout the planning of the wedding and also on the day nothin no matter how big or small mattered to the staff and worked with us to make put day just fabulous!!

All family members commented on how impressed they were with the venue, food and staff and would definitely recommend this to other people!

We can't thank all of you at The Bull enough for making our wedding day perfect and a day to remember! X

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I actually thought that service, food and ambiance in the bar was excellent. Not impressed the first time I dined here but today it was very good. Perfectly happy to return and would recommend. Crayfish salad was very good and not overly expensive.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

thank you so much to David and his team for making our wedding day perfect. We spent a long time looking for our perfect venue and the Willow rooms did not disappoint. The venue is stunning, the food was amazing, David and his staff could not do enough for us and our guests. There was never an empty glass, an abundance of food, and a perfect setting. even with the horrific weather our day was made perfect. all our guests have been commenting since, they even organised our dj who was brilliant. We can not thank you enough!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bull at Great Totham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull at Great Totham

Address: 2 Maldon Road, Great Totham CM9 8NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Great Totham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Great Totham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull at Great Totham 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your The Bull at Great Totham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bull at Great Totham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.