We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Casal Santa Virginia

Save Saved
You added Casal Santa Virginia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casal Santa Virginia
Avenida Luis Augusto Colares 17, Azenhas do Mar 2705-109, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

The beautiful pictures on web got us here-but we are staying now in stinky room with a noisy bed. Candida on the walls and no hot watter!
We travelled around the portugal and we stayed in much better conditions for half prices - yes the sea view is perfect but you can get it for free from any clif near this honod house.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This place was enjoyed by my daughters, because they had an ocean view room with terrace. We on the other had had "The Family Room", which we were told he won't charge any extra for, because he had no Ocean views. Musty, smelly dark. No one greeted us when we came and had to knock for 5 minutes until another guest let us in. Called the manager and he said the room had it's key in it. Breakfast only good. Patio beautiful over looking ocean. The manager found us a room at a nearby Hotel Arribbas which was much better for the second night. Same price.

Room Tip: Ocean view with terrace only!!! Not family room or cottage .. Smell Bad and humid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Such a romantic spot and wonderful place to stay! We stayed directly under the roof in a very nice room with gorgeous views. I totally recommend this place!

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

The hotel is very well located, there is a wonderful ocean's view from the windows and balcony, the only one person whom clean, tide rooms, prepare a very good breakfast is very nice ... but the house is needing some more attention from their owners, everything looks kind of old, the decoration is awful. I would not recommend it, unless you have no other choices.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casal Santa Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casal Santa Virginia

Address: Avenida Luis Augusto Colares 17, Azenhas do Mar 2705-109, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Azenhas do Mar
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Azenhas do Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casal St. Virginia, near the many Lisbon hotels of Portugal, is a historic, hotel-style private accommodation for everyone who wants to experience an unforgettable combination of style, ocean and mountain views and fantastic, sandy beaches right out the front door. Soothing relaxation awaits you while you sip a glass of wine on our ocean terrace. Our close proximity to the town of Sintra also provides you with the best seafood restaurants and entertainment in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Casal Santa Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casal Santa Virginia Portugal/Azenhas Do Mar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casal Santa Virginia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.