We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A matter of balance 21/4 - 05/5” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malpas Hotel & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Malpas Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Malpas Hotel & Casino
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cesur Sokak No 4 | KYRENIA, Catalkoy, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Catalkoy
Chesham
1 review
“A matter of balance 21/4 - 05/5”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We booked this package for two main reasons, cost and quality and we felt that the Malpas ticked both boxes. Desirable also was to have the potential for good weather, the opportunity to rest but have the opportunity to explore and visit sites of historical significance, again all boxes were ticked. On our arrival N Cyprus had been experiencing some very wild weather but from day one we saw nothing but cloudless blue skies with temperatures hovering between 31c - 35c. The hotel was very clean which included Diamond Court where we were situated, which suited us very well. The staff was helpful and friendly and was a credit to the hotel. The buffet style service suited us and the quality was good and varied. The North was generally beautiful and we saw many historical sites, including Salamis which we visited during a reasonably priced organised coach trip. Car hire was reasonable, £20 a day for a brand new Ford Fiesta with petrol 35p a litre cheaper than the UK!!

The negative aspects was of course the building work, which to be fair we missed most of because we had hired a car for week two. The noise that we did hear was loud and annoying and I can understand some of the comments, but I guess it had to be done some time, we were just unlucky. Better communication with guests would have allayed many complaints; this applies also to the beach restaurant and other facilities that had been devastated by storms. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would return, especially if they could guarantee the weather! David & Clare Jackson

Room Tip: Diamond Court, detached from main hotel, quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    202
    117
    36
    26
See reviews for
114
383
15
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Polperro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

we booked into the Malpas 29th April till 12th May. About 3 days into our holiday the diggers came in. We had a note put through our door to say the work would take 3 days. It is is like a major building site now along side the footpath which is used by the people staying in the main hotel to get to the swimming pool. After a few days of nothing between the footpath and diggers some-one must have decided to do a risk assessment and put up a green netting. The hammer drills were still going at 8'oclock one evening whilst people where having their meal with glass smashing. On the last few days the sunbeds were moved from by the entrance to the pool as the concrete chippins were flying about. On the footpath by the pool it was covered in concrete chipings therefore it could not be avoided that the chipings would be carried into by your shoes to the pool area. The pool lads were lovely and were continually cleaning around the pool. No risk assessments could have been carried out before and during the work infact when I asked how long this work would take was told middle June or longer. The men doing the work wore trainers not one had a hard hat, googles, ear defenders on. The footpath to the pool should have been closed off and the pool accessed by the front off the building.
I felt sorry for the staff as they took the brunt of the complaints and there was noting they could do
They staff were lovely you are bound to get one or 2 that you don't take to but they were trying their best to have to deal with complaints about the building work which is out of their control.
When the building work is finished I'am sure this will be a nice hotel . The food is not 5 star for example if you want fresh orange juice you have to pay for it the orange juice out of the machine is like water certainly not fresh.
A bottle of house red wine is 40 TL which worked out £16 with the exchange we got.
A bootle of EFES lager is 7TLR a small bottle
In town a Big bottle was 2.50 TL
3TL for a small bottle of water in town 1 TL
Don't use anything form the mini bar arm and a leg .
I would like to point out they say you are not allowed to bring anything in the hotel you have to buy from hotel because of health and safety but I think they shot themselves in the both feet with that one when the building work started and the dust is flying when you eat outside.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We booked a one week half board stay at the Malpas through Cyprus Paradise @ £380. We're a family of four, three siblings in our 20s and our father. The aim of the break was to totally relax and spend quality time - and for the most part this is what Malpas offered.

We stayed within the hotel and not the apartments and found the restaurant areas/bars to be large and clean. Not a 5* by English standards, but a decent 4 star quality for a holiday. My sister and I were initially given a quite a small and poky room, but after a discussing with reception they swapped us for a much larger brighter room as soon as it was available - though my sister did have to push with this.

We experienced the same issues with the air conditioning - it was almost unbearable some evenings. The hotel explained they would have this fixed, but in my honest opinion - even once the engineers had apparently come - there was no improvement. The casino was closed, which was a disappointment, as there isn't much entertainment on offer and that was something we had been looking forward to. There was also essential maintenance going on - on the first day wasn't pleasant (loud drilling near the pool). But after this, they moved the pool beds so we were further away from the noise, and I didn't notice it much after that.

Having said that, the actual hotel grounds are beautiful - overlooking the mountains - with the sea in the vast distance. The pool is lovely and large and on most days, enough beds for everyone. Most of the waiting staff were nice and polite and ready to help you. We enjoying using the gym, albeit small, and the indoor pool/turkish baths.sauna were all very nice. The food offered a wide selection, but after a week did feel a little repetitive. Fresh fried egg/omlettes and pancakes on offer for breakfast, and always something cooked on the grill in the evening too.

A couple of nights they did offer entertainment - a singer at the bar and salsa. I believe as the peak season picks up, more will be on offer. The lovely barman Alfred also made us feel welcome and made a special birthday cocktail for my brother which we appreciated.

Our father is not that mobile, so the hotel facilities suited our needs. We enjoyed sitting outside the bar or by the pool, soaking up the sunshine, eating, drinking and relaxing together. We did decide to venture to the 'beach club' facilities on offer. As previous reviews mentioned, the Hotel Malpas beach club was ruined by a storm - so we decided to visit the 'Shayna beach club'. Please don't bother, we took a taxi, arrived and left immediately. There are no nice sandy beaches nearby - there is only decking with sun beds and a very small area of sand which is concentrated with litter. You're much much better off at the pool. To be honest, I don't feel Kyrenia offered much either. The hotel offers you a bus into the town, but it's full of rather sub-standard clothes and tourist shops - nothing much to see. There is the harbour, but seeing that will take you all of 20min. We paid 20 Turkish Lira to get back to the hotel after an hour or so.

All in all, if you want to enjoy the sun, exercise, eat and drink - and be content with doing not much else - this is a good option. That's what we wanted, particularly for my father, so the holiday met our needs. For the most part, I would recommend it for the money we paid and service we were offered.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was from the 28th April 2013 for 10 days. The casino was closed, the beach bar & restaurant was closed, the mini mart was closed, the jewellery shop was closed. There was a massive digger breaking up concrete and moving earth for 5 days very close to the swimming pool and path to the pool. The Diamond Court annex gardens were a disgrace with large areas which were supposed to be pools were empty and had rusty chains and debris in them. Not a nice sight from the patio area outside your room.The staff (especially Mehmet) were always willing but a high percentage of them were obviously untrained. The meals were all buffet and frequently the trays containing the food were not refilled when empty. The food was just about ok for a 3 star hotel but woefully short of the standards expected of a 5 star hotel. The pool itself and the number of sunbeds was excellent, the room maid did a good job in cleaning etc.but apart from that this was a very disappointing holiday and needless to say the travel agent (Direct Traveller) have all kind of get outs in their small print.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view, the mountain view overlooks a car park, scrub and houses being built.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We found this hotel great value for money. We had a sea view room on half board basis with flight from Stansted for £380 for the week and although the food was a bit basic there was always plenty and the deserts were delicious.
The pool was fantastic and the pool boys always found you a bed and umbrella. There was also an indoor pool, Turkish Bath , Sauna, Beauty Salon and Hair Dresser with friendly staff.
Unfortunately when we were there, the Casino and Private Beach were out of action and it would have been nice to be told about this beforehand but for what we paid, you couldn't grumble!
All in all a good week away in the sunshine with a comfortable room , hard working staff and one of the best swimming pools we've experienced.

Room Tip: Go for sea view, maybe top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Arrived late, had lovely room overlooking pool with sea views it seemed as though we had struck lucky but what a difference a day makes. The first day of our holiday was fine breakfast ok evening meal ok,air conditioning in room not working but it was going to be sorted went to bed about 11.30 very tired, at 12.30 I had to ring reception because we could not close curtains and the room was lit up like a disco with flashing coloured lights. Day 2 we drove into Kyrenia only to come back and find a note in our room saying that essential maintenance needed doing and sorry for any inconvenience. Four days of excavator and digger digging out tonnes and tonnes of soil about 20 yards away from pool. Finally we thought Saturday maybe one day of peace before we go home not to be from 10 in morning til 7 at night a pneumatic drill going vibrating the room.
Bar/restaurant and housekeepers very good as for reception staff what can I say they have not a clue. I paid for wifi for 3 days did not work very well when I asked about it they more or less said bad luck.

To add to this all the beach club and the casino were out of action.

This is our first visit to northern Cyprus and thanks to this hotel will probably be our last.

Room Tip: Don't bother go somewhere else where customer service is more important
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is rated as a 5 star but is more like a 3.
It looks impressive with the large lobby,terraces and swimming pools.
I suppose what spoilt the holiday was the poor service particularly from the reception staff
.For the first 3 days we had problems with our air conditioning which we were told would be fixed.However we continued during theses 3 days to have a room temperature between 28.5 and 30 degrees.It needed us to be really forceful and say we would not tolerate this any longer before it was fixed.
The hotel's beach club(with hourly complimentarytransfers to and from the hotel) was out of action due to a storm apparently, earlier in the month.It was suggested by reception staff that we try an ajoining beach club-when asked if we could have transfers we were told no-they said we could walk 'it isn't far'.It was 30 degrees and at least 1.5 miles downhill,which means 1.5 miles uphill back.
The rest of the staff weren't at all friendly either.
The buffet breakfast and evening meal was as expected -just ok.
The hotel is quite remote so you are rather trapped there if you don't have a car.If we had realised this(our fault) we would not have booked.
We would not go to this hotel again really due to the poor customer service

Room Tip: Distant sea views at the front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malpas Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malpas Hotel & Casino

Address: Cesur Sokak No 4 | KYRENIA, Catalkoy, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Catalkoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Catalkoy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Malpas Hotel & Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Malpas Hotel & Casino is an exclusive 5* Luxury Resort nestled in a quiet corner of Cyprus overlooking the Five-Finger Mountain range and the beautifully tranquil Mediterranean Sea. Complementing a stunning location, The Malpas Hotel & Casino is the perfect destination for romantic getaways - family leisure breaks - or ideal for functions and conferences. Malpas Hotel & Casino offers state-of-the-art facilities and incorporates luxurious modern amenities in its all-encompassing accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Malpas Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malpas Hotel Catalkoy
Malpas Hotel And Casino
Malpas Hotel Kyrenia
Malpas Hotel & Casino Cyprus/Catalkoy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malpas Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.