We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tasteless and expensive” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cratos Premium Hotel, Casino, Port & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cratos Premium Hotel, Casino, Port & Spa to your Saves list
Cratos Premium Hotel, Casino, Port & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Catalkoy village, Catalkoy, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Catalkoy
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“tasteless and expensive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel must have been built as a factory or something. I think it has the least welcoming architecture I have ever seen in a five star hotel. It is supposed to have been built to the highest standard. They even tried to bring J Lo to the opening!!
I suggest the place is a monument to decoration with opulant and tastelessness in mind. It mainly caters for rich ussions coming over to gamble I think.
The rooms are decorated in red and black, no privacy in toilets as the seperations are glass. Gold glitter in places where you don't really expect. Not for me, not for a tasteful hotel by the sea as far as I am concerned.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    58
    41
    16
    28
See reviews for
58
66
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
İstanbul, Türkiye
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The Cratos hotel is a little piece of heaven on the waterfront in cyprus..
The service when we arrived at reception was professional and extremely friendly. The food was also fabulous( except desserts ) . Excellent beach and pools ( ecxept beach was small ) Would love to come back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed at the Cratos on Friday 1st June and Saturday 2nd June with my partner and child as we were attending a wedding. We had booked a family room but when we got to Reception and checked in we were told the hotel was full and we were only having a double room with a pull out bed. To be honest I wasn't impressed but we were only there for two nights so I couldn't be bothered to complain.
I would say If you are looking for a luxury hotel with the wow factor looks wise then the Cratos is the place to stay. However you will pay for the privilege. The hotel entrance is stunning and the whole hotel is breath taking it has the usual shops but at a much better quality from the full spa, gym to the shops and hair dressers. The bar prices reflect this quality too so beware if you are fancying a night on the tiles here it will cost you. We stayed in a double room here with a pull out bed the room was a fair size nothing to write home about but was clean and well presented. The bathroom was spotless and comprised of 2 parts, the toilet separate to the bath/ shower and was very useful. No view really though and it would have been nice to have sea, pool or mountain view, however you will pay big time for a view. Also beware using anything from the extensive but very expensive mini bar. I think a bottle of water from the mini bar was £5.00. Buy your own for 25p from the supermarket down the road like we did.
The staff are the biggest disappointment for me they just don't live up to the reputation or the quality of the hotel. They ignore you at the bar leave you waiting at reception and are generally just not interested. We waited over 20 minutes just to get a cup of tea at breakfast and then got coffee and a shrug of the shoulders. Not what I would expect for the money. Not impressed at all.
We only stayed room and breakfast and have to say the food was very good quality.
The pool here is extensive and also has a beach area below so you decide where you prefer.
All in all it's a very good hotel. Very expensive but certainly one of the best in Northern Cyprus but don't expect the staff to go out of their way for you - unless you tip them heavily. Would I return - yes but not in a hurry!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Cell block H, most rooms face a concrete wall of other rooms. Beach is a 40 foot strech of gray sand. Sun loungers 6 inches apart, both at pool and beach. Rooms small and smoky. Meals are the same- morning noon and night. One chef trying to cook eggs for 400 inmates - yes, you will feel that way. Arrive early for any meal as will be a struggle for a place to sit. Hope you like throbbing music as that is played around the sea area all day/night. Two persons on reception trying to handle 200-300 guests checking out/ in. Would not honor reserved room as party that was in room was going to stay longer. Had to source bottle opener and open wine myself at bar. Mold in bath, fixture fell off wall.
Not a pleasant experience. Go some where else.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Catalkoy hotels

Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

If you are looking for a luxury hotel with opulence and the wow factor then the Cratos is the place to stay. Beware though you will pay for the privilege !
The hotel entrance is stunning and the whole hotel is breath taking it has the usual shops but at a much better quality from the full spa,gym to the zen diamonds and louis Vuitton. The bar prices reflect this quality too so beware if you are fancying a night on the tiles here it will cost you!
We stayed in a double room here with a pull out bed ( it should have been a family room but they messed the booking up) the room was a fair size nothing to write home about but was clean and well presented. The bathroom was spotless and comprised of 2 parts, the toilet separate to the bath/ shower and was very useful.
Again beware using anything from the extensive but very expensive mini bar !
The staff are the biggest disappointment for me they just don't live up to the reputation or the quality of the hotel. They ignore you at the bar leave you waiting at reception and are generally just not interested. We waited over 20 minutes just to get tea at breakfast and then got coffee and a shrug of the shoulders. Not what I would expect for the money.
We only stayed room and breakfast and have to say the food was very good quality.
The pool here is extensive and also has a beach area belw so you ecide where you prefer.
The casino is amazing and you will be mezmorised by the pure opulence of it !
All in all it's a very good hotel. Very expensive but certainly one of the very best in Northern Cyprus but don't expect the staff to go out of their way for you - unless you tip them heavily !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We went to a wedding last week in Cyprus and wanted to stay somewhere 5* or as close as possible so we were advised to stay in the Cratos, or Crappos as my husband calls it. On arrival it looks like a lavish Hotel that once had its day, tired, chincy facade and awful furnishings. No one greeted us at the entrance, we had to carry our own bags to the reception where we were greeted by 1 member of staff who spoke NO English (like every member of staff there) and were told our room wasnt ready as they had overbooked so we had to wait 5 hours so headed for the pool. The room was average, shower was hanging off, bed was hard, rooms very clean which is nice but they are certainly NOT 5*, I would say 3*. So the negatives and positives below.

Negatives:

No one spoke English
No maps or advise given on where and what to do in Hotel
All shops closed
Short staffed due to money problems
Horrendous food and I mean horrendous, same thing every night and day for 7 days, no fresh fish or lamb just crap. My husband had pasta and tomato sauce for the last 4 days
Rude travellers staying there, no respect for anyone who isnt Turkish/Cypriat
Music from club played until around 3am
All restaurants and bars closed on front of harbour as they have sold them off and no longer running so there was 1 bar and 1 restaurant for the whole week.
Shocking service, no drinks ever came, this maybe due to lack of language
Allot of hookers and fat old men in Casino
Constant club music played by pool from 9am

Positives

The big clean pool
Hot weather
Going home
Good Casino

Trust me, we are not a fussy lot but this was a real dissapointment, I would honestly not recommend it to anyone. Give this Hotel a year and it will be a wreck!!!!

Room Tip: Dont go! there are plently of other places. The Rock is far better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

If you would like to visit it is the place to stay. Wide rooms good buffet and casino like las vegas. Great pool and sea and close by attractions

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cratos Premium Hotel, Casino, Port & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cratos Premium Hotel, Casino, Port & Spa

Address: Catalkoy village, Catalkoy, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Catalkoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Catalkoy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cratos Premium Hotel, Casino, Port & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 407
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cratos Premium Hotel, Casino, Port & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cratos Premium Hotel, Casino, Port Hotel Catalkoy
Cratos Premium Hotel, Casino, Port And Spa
Cratos Premium Hotel, Casino, Port & Spa Cyprus/Catalkoy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cratos Premium Hotel, Casino, Port & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.