We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truely Unique Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viking Ship Museum

Viking Ship Museum
Vindeboder 12, Roskilde DK-4000 , Denmark
+45 46 30 02 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 25 Attractions in Roskilde
Type: Ships, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Warships await you at the Viking Ship Museum. Don't worry, they won't open fire. This museum is dedicated to education about boat building, archaeology and Viking life. It's a favorite among kids, and visitors of all ages can take to the water in traditional vessels. Open 10 a.m.-4 p.m. seven days a week, until 5 p.m. in summer months.
Great Knowley England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Truely Unique Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The main part of the Museum has the remains of 5 Viking boats, both cargo and long boats, which are over 1000 years old. This is backed up by excellent audio visual displays and models

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    123
    39
    16
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Over-Rated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The overall museum was small and exhibits were below average. Your better off taking photos of the ships docked in the port outside.

The day I visited the workshops and shop tours was closed...which was strange was I was there at 2pm on a Thursday...when the sun was out. I guess that added to my disappointment of the place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Very interesting, activities for children.

Good value for money highy recomended.

Staff where very friendly and informative.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if in Roskilde”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

If in Roskilde, it's worth a visit. If you are staying in Copenhagen and have a day to spare, a trip to Roskilde and the museum is worth the time.

Overall, the exhibits are nice and there is a good film (in Danish) you can watch. It's not fair to compare this exhibit to the Vikinshipshuset in Oslo, however, Oslo's museum is amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Excellent for visitors of all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The exhibition of the discovery of the ships to their excavation, exhibition and reconstruction was really interesting. It was good to see the actual timbers from the ships and their size, it was also fun to dress up in the costumes and pose for photographs in the reconstructed boat. The film of the voyage over to Ireland was simply amazing. Outside there was also plenty to see and do, from shield painting, nail and rope making to the reconstructed ships in the harbour. My husband and son-in-law had hoped to be able to go out on one of the ships but we has visited the exhibitions indoors first and by the time we went outside to try and book the trips, there was only one place left. This was probably because it was the last day of the boat trips as they finish for the winter on 30th September. So they had to just visit the harbour exhibits while my daughter and I used swinging bobbins to create a wool rope. The cafe made nice hot chocolate and also had some nice looking cakes, there were toilets inside the exhibition building and also outside in the harbour area There was also a restaurant close to the car park. We got there by walking from the station at Roskilde through the park which was quite a pleasant walk taking a good 20mins but decided to return to the station by bus.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viking Ship Museum also viewed

Roskilde, Roskilde Municipality
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Viking Ship Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viking Ship Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.