We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful cathedral in Roskilde” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Roskilde

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Roskilde to your Saves list
Scandic Roskilde
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ved Ringen 2, Roskilde 4000, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Roskilde
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    25
    41
    8
    2
See reviews for
20
21
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Time flies and 3 years have gone by since I was last here. It’s a nice provincial Scandic with all the benefits that Scandic offer. For me the free WiFi is one of them, but also the food voucher I get as part of my club status with Scandic Friends. This is clearly a business and conference hotel.

The corridor approaching the room could do with a freshen up with some fresh paint and the service staff should have removed the remains of someone’s room service meal rather than letting it fester in the corridor overnight.

As I was only overnighting, I chose a standard room which was adequate. Bizarrely it had a built in ironing board and iron *and* a free standing ironing board and iron in the wardrobe, but disappointingly nowhere to open up and put my suitcase but on the floor. The bed however was very comfortable.

The shower room was small but functional. The shower surrounds could do with descaling a bit, but it was fine. As is typical in many places these days the shower was low pressure.

Breakfast, as always in a Scandic was great with a wide choice of tasty foods.

I decided to check out online and in so doing missed the opportunity to use my discount voucher on that bill. Reception were very helpful suggesting I bought some water from the shop to the same value which I did.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWFrederiksen, Direktør at Scandic Roskilde, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Dear TrevMK

Thank you so much for sharing your exeperience afater staying with us (again)

I am glad that you choose us again. I am also glad that you enjoyed our breakfast and free wifi.
I hope you liked the On Line Check out feature.
We are planning to freshen up the corridors and stairways very soon, so hopefully when you return again, we will have it done.
The preesuere of the water is ongoing as we speak and we expect to have it solved anytime - since it comes and goes , its been hard to trace.

Thank you again for the review and positive rating
We welcome you back

Best regards

Jørgen W. Frederiksen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014 via mobile

a simple business hotel. Friendly with reasonable rooms and a gym/sauna that is workable. Food is to a good standard and breakfast has plenty of choice. I noticed a children's room downstairs if the parents are needing a break.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWFrederiksen, General Manager at Scandic Roskilde, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Hi Skytourist

Thank you for sharing your exerience after staying with us.
I am glad you found us friendly and that the food & breakfast was good
In the summertime we'll move the childrens area into the restaurant area

I hope to see you back with us

Best regards

Jørgen W. Frederiksen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

This is a large hotel, in not that big a town. Feels a little business like. breakfast good. Our frist room was a little smoky but swapped without problem to another room. Rooms on the small side, the rooms at the back over look the park land that used to be a Danish Grand prix "roskilde ring" which is why the bar in the hotel is, rather oddly, the "Stirling moss". The park is lovely. the hotel has money off deal with the Viking museum down the road.

Room Tip: room at the back over looking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorgen F, General Manager at Scandic Roskilde, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
Dear Drew

I appreciate that you took the time to write about our hotel in Roskilde
I hope to welcome you back soon again

Best regards

Jørgen W Frederiksen

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

This is a travelers hotel, a bit threadbare, but okay for stopping for the night. Rooms are spare with twin beds or one full and furniture that resembles low end Ikea. Bathrooms are small but clean with very thin towels and no ammenities. The mattresses are common in Denmark, but strange to us. There was a box spring type bottom topped with a 2" sheeted pad for sleeping. Our first room had no covering over the bottom essentially expecting the sleeper to share all previous guest's DNA. We were changed to a room that had the bottom boxspring skirted but told that the situation in the first room should not have been a problem to us. The beds were comfortable once we got over the ick factor. Breakfast was great with varieties of meats, cheeses, cereal, and eggs. A fruit basket let us cut up our own pineapples an melons. The breakfast and hotel location close to the highway make it worth the price.

Room Tip: Non smoking hotel so smokers congregate at the front entrance or on outside stairwells. Avoid rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWFrederiksen, Manager at Scandic Roskilde, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Dear MGRK

Thank you so much for sharing your story about Scandic Roskilde. It is very useful for us
newxt time please book a room with king or queen siz beds
We also appreciate your positive words regarding our breakfast buffet
Hope to see you again

Best regards

J. W. Frederiksen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVANSTON
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This is a "big" hotel in a small town. Very comfortable. Very good location. The staff is very helpful. Good food in restaurant although the restaurant was understaffed. Free Wi-Fi with easy access. A 40 minute drive from the Copenhagen airport. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWFrederiksen, General Manager at Scandic Roskilde, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Dear Phyllis

Thank you for sharing your positive story about us
it gave a big smile om our faces

We hope to see you again
Best regards
Team Roskilde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed one night
Friendly staff, excellent breakfast and an amazing running and walking area just outside with an excellent outdoor gym
Free parking and internet
The only complaint is the lack of AC (we were there a hot night)
Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWFrederiksen, General Manager at Scandic Roskilde, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Dear Mr Zangief

Tank you so much for sharing your story about ypour stay at Scandic Roskilde
i am very glad to read that you liked our facilities, ecological breakfast and surroundings

I welcome you back to Scandic Roskilde

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Roskilde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Roskilde

Address: Ved Ringen 2, Roskilde 4000, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > West Zealand > Roskilde Municipality > Roskilde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Roskilde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Roskilde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful two story hotel overlooking a park, located 1.5 km from the city center & historical sites; 1 km from railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Scandic Roskilde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Roskilde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Roskilde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.