We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Afternoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kronborg Castle

Kronborg Castle
Kronborg 2 C, Helsingoer 3000, Denmark
+45 4921 3078
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$122*
and up
Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and...
Ranked #1 of 21 Attractions in Helsingoer
Type: Castles, Historic Sites, Landmarks
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Sheffield
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Interesting Afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This castle is good value at 60kr for adults and 30Kr for children. The parking is a bit strange, being chargeable and with a maximum of 2 hours which is not enough for the castle.

There is parking elsewhere for better value else where in the area.

Enjoy the casements very spooky, the royal apartments, the tower with great views of the area.

The whole experience is great, highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    235
    48
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McAlpin
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Although there is not a lot of furniture in the castle they have done an excellent job of telling you the history with short videos and plaques. There numerous tapistries and paintings, all with explanations. You can even download a free app that takes you on a tour. Climb the tower for the view and take a flashlight (although you can buy one from a machine) for wandering around the underground passages.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We took the train from Copenhagen out to Helsingoer - trains run about every 20 minutes and cost about £10. The journey took about 40 minutes. Once at Helsingoer the castle is signposted from the station and once through the station doors can be seen. It took about 10 - 15 minutes to get to the castle. There is a free guided tour in English at 11am. Our guide was very clear and informative. He took us into the Casemates and then into some of the Royal apartments. The casemates were freezing so it was a good idea to have a jumper as this part of the tour lasts about 20 minutes. At the end of the tour you are free to wander and see more of the castle if you wish to.
Don't miss the plaque of Shakespeare on the wall just outside the castle.
There are two small souvenir shops with quite a few Shakespeare souvenirs.
There is a cafe at the castle but as it was cold we left and went to the Culture Centre just opposite where we had coffee with a nice view of the castle.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A very enriching experience, but make sure you go for the free tour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just wandering through the castle by itself is not very interesting. We paid DKK 75 per person for adults, and if you tell them that you are a student (don't lie, people here are very trusting of each other and we don't want to break that cycle), it'll be DKK 30 to view both the underground and the Royal Apartments (i.e. every part of the castle that it open to the public).

There are free tours at 1pm and 3pm, so make sure to go for those! The tour guide speaks English. We had Hannah as a guide, and she was very animated throughout the tour, telling us stories and interesting facts about the castle, that just makes the trip that much more worth it when you know the story behind everything. She knows little tidbits here and there about certain parts of the castle, and she keeps things interesting by making jokes throughout her historical tour. The casemate (underground) was extremely cold, and according to Hannah, is always that cold no matter what season of the year (we went in summer), and it was really freezing. I would suggest long sleeved pants and jacket. The casemate is just like a huge refrigerator.

The Royal Apartments were made interesting by Hannah's introductions as to what happened, and what the royalty used to do, e.g. apparently they will stuff themselves with food and then induce their own vomiting, just so they could eat some more. After going to the casemate, we then appreciated how vastly different normal people and the royal family were. It was almost ridiculous, and I finally appreciated the fact that we've done away mostly with all the 'royal' thingy now.

I shan't say too much - so go for it, especially the tour, and I hope you will have an enriching experience too! My family and I spent 3 hours there. There are other places to explore too, other than casemate and Royal Apartments.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent tourist attraction, but watch out for parking lot ripoff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

As many have written before, this castle is truly worth a visit. I have little to add here.

However, be aware that the official parking of the castle is operated by a private, rather profitable company (Europark), that derives part of its income from issuing stiff parking tickets in case you exceed the time you paid for. When I sat down for lunch instead of directly going back to the car I knew I was risking a ticket, but I didn't expect it to be 115 USD.

So, if you're from a country where tourist attractions offer free parking or at least don't rip their clients off by issuing ridiculously high tickets, be aware that many parking lots in Denmark are privately operated and might fine you for as little as having one tire on the white marks, or for having multiple tickets behind the windshield.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kronborg Castle also viewed

Hillerod, Hilleroed Municipality
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Kronborg Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kronborg Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.