We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 205 view of Sweden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madam Sprunck Hotel & Restaurant

Madam Sprunck Hotel & Restaurant
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Madam Sprunck Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Madam Sprunck Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Bramstraede 5, Helsingoer 3000, Denmark (Formerly Hotel Hamlet Helsingor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Helsingoer B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Room 205 view of Sweden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is a sweet hotel with the basics - it is very clean, limited facilities but central to the old town of Helsinger, the ferry if you're going to sweden and the train station if travelling elsewhere. The staff a lovely and very helpful. Our room was quite big and the bed very comfortable. You could open the windows to get a lovely breeze and we were lucky that the night life was limited both nights. It was a lovely place to stay. I am not sure if all the rooms would have a view across the narrow straight to Sweden - I feel we were lucky.

Room Tip: Room 205 was lovely with a view of Sweden Just! We suspect it is the room in the advertising materi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    18
    9
    9
    4
See reviews for
3
20
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thurlstone
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

My 3rd visit to Helsingoer with work. Booked into Madam Sprunck as was arriving by train and the hotel is a 1 minute walk from the station.
Single room, bed was OK, room clean and functional (no minibar or aircon). Hotel itself was pretty old but despite other reviews on here i thought it was wearing its years pretty well. Room charge was 795DK which is reasonable considering Denmark is not a cheap place to stay, drink or eat! Breakfast was a buffet style with decent selection of hot and cold food.
Downsides - it was very warm one night i stayed and without aircon i had to open the windows wide to get comforatble in the heat. I agree with others that the street outside seems to come to life at 6am so open windows meant a noisy start to the day.
Upsides - location is ideal, very central so plenty of choice for other places to eat or a walk along the seafront. Downstairs bar/restaraunt very good too.
I have previously stayed in the Sleeptonight (very basic, 2 mile walk into the centre and on an industrial estate - cheap enough but just a motel really (definately one I`d avoid) and Marianlyst (nice place but double cost of Madam Sprunck and a decent walk into the centre too). Next time i`m in Helsiongoer, will return here without doubt.

Room Tip: Avoid a room overlooking the main street if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This hotel was a great surprise, we checked-in by credit card without a chance to see the room before. But the room was really furnished with good taste, with big windows, comfort bed and small bathroom.
The best was yet to come – there is a restaurant on the first floor, and in the basement there was lovely jazz band playing.

Room Tip: You can check-in with a credit card when reception is closed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2006

The company travel agent booked me into the Hotel Hamlet as it was the closest available hotel to Copenhagen due to a convention at the Bella Center.

When I booked the travel agent confirmed that this was a comfortable hotel with all of the standard facilities. I think their definition of standard facilities and mine must differ fundamentally.

The hotel has a good location close to Helsingor station and I had no problem finding it. On arrival I checked in and was given the key to my room - no problems so far. Then I went to my room. It would certainly be described as a single room - a single bed (very uncomfortable), a desk, a wardrobe and a wall mounted television with 2 channels - one danish and one swedish. The 'bathroom' consisted of a corridor layout about 5 foot wide where it was necessary to climb over the toilet to get to the shower.

There was no facility for an alarm call but I didn't need to worry as my room was immediately above the kitchen so I was woken up by them at 6:00.

Needless to say I rang all of the hotels in Copenhagen every day to see if they had any vacancies and as soon as a room became available I checked out of the Hamlet and returned to Copenhagen

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madam Sprunck Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madam Sprunck Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Bramstraede 5, Helsingoer 3000, Denmark (Formerly Hotel Hamlet Helsingor)
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen Region > Helsingoer Municipality > Helsingoer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Helsingoer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Madam Sprunck Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Helsingør’s city centre, Hotel & Restaurant Madam Sprunck is 15 minutes’ walk from Kronoberg Castle. It offers a French-inspired restaurant and free Wi-Fi in the lobby. Each room has a writing desk and cable TV. Less than 5 minutes’ walk away is Helsingør Train Station and the ferry terminals, providing easy access to both Copenhagen and Sweden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Madam Sprunck Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madam Sprunck Hotel & Restaurant Denmark/Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madam Sprunck Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.