We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wagamama

Wagamama
Tietgensgade 20, Copenhagen 1704, Denmark (Indre By)
+45 3375 0658
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #611 of 1,545 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Indre By
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I often eat on this restaurant - it is on my way to home. Affordable prices, good food and attentive staff. Try the soup - the chef is excellent. The only thing they could improve is service time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    75
    73
    39
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Good restaurant, good food and affordable, specially when you think about the prices in Copenhagen. The service is really good, the waiters are very attentive. It's very well located, close to Tivoli.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Thank You Wagamama, Copenhagen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

While recently on a trip to Copenhagen, we got very wet following a heavy rain shower. We decided to go to Wagamama for our lunch. Arriving rather wet, the waitress who greeted us kindly gave us a roll of paper towelling to dry ourselves off following us getting caught in the rain. My sister who is disabled and who uses a small motorised scooter was allowed to give the battery of her scooter a booster charge there in Wagamama Restaurant while we had our lunch. We were very well looked after on our visit there and enjoyed lovely food. This was our second visit to Wagamama on our trip to Copenhagen, our first visit was in early August prior to embarking on a Cruise in the Baltics. Thank you to all in Wagamama for making our visit a memorable one. At the beginning of our trip we encountered hostility at a bar/restaurant on the pedestrian street in Copenhagen where we sat for a drink and my sister's scooter battery was almost flat and we enquired could we plug in the battery pack just to give it a boost so as we could get back to our hotel and we were firmly given a NO response !!! Therefore our visit to Wagamama renewed our faith in the Danish people.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pretention without matching quality of service, but nice food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

You enter a world where everything looks ordered and well-organized. The staff starts to explain in a friendly manner how it 'works', while busy-looking students (the male variety with sharp artistic beards), whizz around, trying to embody 'the concept'. Well, this concept disintegrated as soon as the food arrived for all but one of our party of five. Suddenly it was impossible to attract the attention of the staff, like any old fashioned tourist trap, the head waiter stated vacantly around while the pretentious youths continued to whizz. After a while we managed to ask what kept the fifth plate. A smiling bearded person checked his pocket computer and confirmed that it was on its way, not. Only after a Gordon Ramseyesque intervention on my part and an extra 20 minutes the plate arrived and the dinner was basically spoilt. Any restaurant with a bit of self respect would apologize and offer free drinks, or dessert, not Wagamama, because the 'concept' ensures that no one shares any responsibility or even cares a bit. So leaving no tip is the only hint a customer can give. I feel a bit sorry for the girl that was at the receiving end of my genuine irritation, but that's what you get when a concept dictates that there's no manager to take responsibility. About the food. That was ok, but doesn't merit the inflated price. The drinks are also too expensive even for Denmark. In short, Wagamama's "concept" is nothing but pretentious rubbish. (For a real and working concept you should visit The Pump Room in Bath (UK), perfect service with military precision). The food is ok, but not worth the fuss and the money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“What went wrong?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We are very long standing wagamama fans from London, and this was totally not the same experience. My noodles were fried, swimming in oil, and came last - after husband and kids got their mediocre fare (all left there food). Not at all picky eaters usually. Our starters never came, main course, which we are used to coming in stages (wagamama style), was more delayed than usual with my portion coming 15 minutes after the other 3. Food was really mediocre, didn't have the wagamama panache. Service was dramatically slow, no one was using the electonic devices, two waitresses for lunch in the tivoli theme park? Drastically disappointed as we were so excited to see the sign. Just shows you.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wagamama also viewed

 
Valby, Gribskov Municipality
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Wagamama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wagamama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.