We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Danhostel simple but great...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copenhagen Downtown Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Copenhagen Downtown Hostel to your Saves list
Copenhagen Downtown Hostel
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Vandkunsten 5, Copenhagen 1467, Denmark (Formerly Danhostel CopenHagen Downtown) (Indre By)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Basel, Schweiz
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Danhostel simple but great...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have stayed at the Danhostel over New Year’s Eve in a 4-bed room. If I will ever go back to Copenhagen I would definitely stay at this hostel again. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, the location was great and for a hostel they had an amazing breakfast buffet.

Those looking for luxury should rather go somewhere else though. It’s a simple place. The rooms are rather small, the communal shower and toilets aren’t always spotlessly cleaned (especially in the evening) and it can get quite noisy sometimes. This didn’t bother us though.

A special tip: If somebody will be in this hostel on New Year’s Eve you should stay at the hostel and participate at the organized dinner. It was an amazing evening and night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Copenhagen Downtown Hostel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Hi!!

Thanks for your review!

We like that peopple appreciate our effort to make this place the best hostel.
We hope to see you sometime soon for more adventures.

Kind regards,
Hostel Copenhagen Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    198
    70
    29
    24
See reviews for
26
66
128
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had a brilliant time at Danhostel Copenhagen Downtown - the staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were basic but clean and functional, the atmosphere was brilliant, and the free WiFi was a real bonus for researching the city. For just 30kr you can rent a large locker in the basement (we fitted 3 hand-baggage sized suitcases in there) which is also very useful.

I would recommend the free walking tours which are promoted by the hostel, plus, if it's your thing, the bar crawl which is run Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings, which takes you to some of the more affordable bars in the city and ends up in a club and is generally a really fun night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Copenhagen Downtown Hostel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hi Scott!

Thank you very much for your comments!

Lovely to hear that you had a great time!

Keep yourself posted and join us for more fun soon!

Kind regards
Hostel Copenhagen Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great choice for central Copenhagen. Helpful staff, cozy bar area where one can hang out, have some tea, sandwiches, etc. Absolutely perfect location, a minute from 'Ströget'. Can get pretty loud on the street below and lobby area at night however.

Quite rundown and for that reason, I prefer the newer, or renovated, City location instead.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Copenhagen Downtown Hostel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hi There!

Thank you for your comments!

Looking forward to see you again here to join all our activities:
Free walking tours, pub crawls, dinners parties and great atmosphere in our bar!

Kind regards,
Hostel Copenhagen Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Booked a private room for 2 of us, bunk beds with desk, cupboard and window - small but we managed. Bathrooms are just down the hall, most are toilet and shower in one room so there is usually water all over the floor. Never had to wait for a shower though.

Have to lug your luggage up a flight of stairs before you reach the lift, but it's not too far.
Lounge area is really cool, there are iPads for borrowing and a chillout bedlounge area, aswell as heaps of tables and chairs and a bar. It was freezing cold in Copenhagen in April, and there wasn't much open over Easter, so the hostel became our home away from home for a few days to just relax in.

Location is great, convienience store a few minutes walk away just near Stroget. And the heating works a treat in both the rooms and the common areas!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in; clean, comfortable, friendly and great value. Staff were so nice and willing to help with anything; very knowledgable about the city too. It has a typically cosy Scandinavian atmosphere, where guests are encouraged to eat together and make friends. You can also borrow phone chargers, iPads, irons, laptops - just for handing reception your room key! Rooms are tiny but very clean and well looked after. Perfect for backpackers, great for friends too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We arrived very early in the morning and were caught between a rock and hard place for a place to stay. No connections on the train unless, you paid and we checked this place out. It is more like a hotel and the rates are also. All of Denmark is very expensive so we will not be here long...see the sights and jump back on the train. The staff was great and the bedding that you had to RENT was soft and clean. The food here LOOKS great but we have already spent way to much. I probably would not stay here again only because of price

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed here for four nights after arriving in Copenhagen. The hostel has a lively atmosphere as soon as you arrive and everyone seems to be enjoying themselves. The staff was excellent and they will even sit down and have beer with you after they are finished their shift. Both the rooms and bathrooms were clean and I could see that the bathrooms were cleaned well each morning.

I met a great group of people from around the world and I would highly recommend this hostel to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copenhagen Downtown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Downtown Hostel

Address: Vandkunsten 5, Copenhagen 1467, Denmark (Formerly Danhostel CopenHagen Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Copenhagen Downtown Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the international city atmosphere at Copenhagen Downtown. Copenhagen Downtown is only a 2 minute walk from Central Station, the Tivoli Gardens and the city centre. A cozy atmosphere, living art and a vibrant cultural life make Copenhagen Downtown unique. It is a hotspot for different nationalities, expressions and life stories where performing artists as well as Copenhageners and visitors from all over the world come together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Copenhagen Downtown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danhostel Copenhagen Downtown Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copenhagen Downtown Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.