We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Copenhagen from the best side” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kanal Cafeen

Kanal Cafeen
Frederiksholms Kanal 18, Copenhagen 1220, Denmark (Indre By)
33115770
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #128 of 1,542 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Indre By
Paphos, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Copenhagen from the best side”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Wow if you not been to this Place go directly without stop, this small lovely place with the ""Danish Smorrebread"" specialty, every "small"course big in off for a dinner, and of course the fish dishes are the big thing, together with speciell Danish ""en lille en"" alcoholic shots with speciell herbs, makes this old lovely place to genuine Danish.
You will love it!!
Don't miss it

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    62
    12
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
københavn
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food and canal view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

After a lunch in the outdoor section of Kanal Cafeen you will walk away with a big smile and full stomac. The food is excellent and plenty - but beware of your waist, if you empty the plates. The waiters are efficient and friendly, and also seem to have enjoyed the food! Absolutely a restaurant to revisit. But do your exercises between visits - otherwise you risk to gain weight.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A popular restaurant located by the Parliament Building.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Found the restaurant in a quieter part of the city. We didn't eat but stopped for a drink. I noticed the beers were either dark or light. I asked for a light beer and was served an alcohol free beer so be careful when ordering. Like all of Scandinavia, prices are high. However, a pleasant place to sit and watch the boats going by.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon this place. Choices of seating included al fresco, by the water or a tiny, smoky indoor place (with a nice clean restroom). We opted to sit by the water. While the seating is cozy, it wasn't uncomfortable. We had the fried fish, roast beef, pork and chicken salad. All were good but I found the pork outstanding. Not usually my menu choice but it was served with red cabbage which I loved. We all enjoyed our lunches and I'm delighted to know we had traditional Danish open sandwiches!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stavanger, Norway
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A place to come back to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Once again we've been to Kanal Cafeen. This is a place with great atmosphere and good freshly made food. Two “smørrebrød” makes a meal. Service is friendly with to the point comments and a smile. Try the “Brøndum Kummenaquavit” with my favorites – eel and herring! Outside, covered seating along the canal in the summer. Reservation recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kanal Cafeen also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Kanal Cafeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kanal Cafeen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.