We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To many customers” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kanal Cafeen

Kanal Cafeen
Frederiksholms Kanal 18, Copenhagen 1220, Denmark (Indre By)
33115770
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #123 of 1,546 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Indre By
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“To many customers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We went to Kanal Cafeen and wanted an outside table, it is full the waiter said. We ask if we could book a table a bit later, that was ok, se you in 30 minuts then! When we came back the same person, looked at us and said, nope no tables.... Probarbly good food but poor service if your not a known person......

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    62
    12
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Danish "hygge" at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This is the place for a traditional Danish "hygge" witth "smorrebrod", beer, akvavit and the lot. Crammed, over-furnished, over-decorated and fice steps down from street level - exectly how it should be. Herring, tartar, cheese, roast beef, all with excellent bread and served by Danish people who want to make you feel welcome. We loved it!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The place for Danish sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

The service is rude but entertaining. This is - and has always been - a part of the concept in this excellent Danish restaurant. This is one of the reasons, why this is one of my favorite places to go for lunch. The food is excellent; home cooked, well prepared and nicely presented. And to a consistent quality. You’ll never go wrong.
The basement room may seem a bit crowded and noisy; especially on Friday afternoons. And the maritime theme makes it look even more like a Danish pub for sailors. But don’t be fooled. It’s really good.
The menu is the traditional long list of Danish sandwiches, where you choose from a large number of options and write your choice directly on the list. You also choose if you prefer dark or light bread.
Go for one sandwich with herring, one piece with meats on dark bread and one sandwich with cheese on light bread. Drink beer and snaps with it all. This combo will keep you full and entertained for the rest of the day.
My tip: Try the fried, marinated herring, which is fabulous. Make sure to order a table in advance.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ski
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

This restaurant is an authentic place, typical cafe in Copenhagen. They serve traditional danish food.

We had lunch here and ordered the little plate with different food. It's not little, but rather big.

As a starter we got five kinds of herring, lovely warm, braised herring, some marinated cooked herring and three different kinds of prepared herring, all tasted very good.

The main dishes was also typical danih. Meatballs and rib from pork served with red cabbage, and some fried fish.

Dessert, three types of cheese, brie, blue cheese and another strong one that I did not eat.

This meal was wonderful, and the waiter was helpful and looked after our table well.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
“One of the best places for Danish "smorrebrod"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

This is a long-time favourite of ours. Yesterday we visited together with visiting German friends. The restaurant was packed with people, as always at lunchtime (book a table in advance!). We had two "smorrebrod" each, and the portions are huge. You can try herring in various ways, chicken salad sandwich, fried fish sandwich, shrimp sandwich, eel sandwich, liver paté sandwich, roastbeef sandwich, cheese (various) sandwich and much else... Served along with beer of many kinds, and, if you like, a "snaps" (and we prefer Harald Jensen, which has a mild taste, suitable to all palets :-))

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kanal Cafeen also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Kanal Cafeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kanal Cafeen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.