We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat a real treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kong Hans kaelder

Kong Hans kaelder
Vingardstraede 6, Copenhagen 1070, Denmark (Indre By)
33-11-68-68
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 1,546 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Indre By
Jersey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Birthday treat a real treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Absolutely loved this place - great atmosphere, slick service, fantastic food. We dined late after a theatre show & the place was busy but still received great service. Amazing cheeseboard and wine choice. Pricey, but worth every krone!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    26
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silkeborg, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“One of Denmarks best restuarants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Kong Hans is in a cellar in the centre of Copenhagen. Easy to get to. The menu changes every week and your get a fabulous experience of gastronomic delights, every time. Not cheap but very good value for money.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“good, but......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Excellent service, good atmosphere and a nice place. The food - good indeed, but not at all extraordinary. I think we could have expected something more given the pricelevel...... was missing the little magic thouch/taste.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“With restaurant like this Copenhagen is indeed gastro capital of the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

If you look carefully on the street before sitting down how many cooks they have working (carefully because there are at least 2 kitchen areas surrounding dining area) you'll find out that cook/patron ratio is at least 2. This fact combined with impeccable food preparation and high labor cost in Scandinavia actually makes seemingly high price in this restaurant to be actually a steal. We have spent $600 for 2 enjoying perfect meal with perfect wine. I can vouch that their markup for the wines I chose was not more 50% compared to retailer price in Houston, TX (Specs). I also must say that I have had best chocolate dessert in my life

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The place to be for dinner. Best of the best. Every care is taken to prepare the food, the service is excellent. I had the wine pairing with my dinner and the combination was excellent. Comparatively with Restaurants of the same caliber around the world, the price is competitive. Strongly recommended. Please book in advance or u will never get a table.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kong Hans kaelder also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Frederiksberg, Copenhagen
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Kong Hans kaelder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kong Hans kaelder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.