We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ban Gaw

Ban Gaw
Halmtorvet 44, Copenhagen 1700, Denmark (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)
33254860
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #524 of 1,545 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Price range: $0 - $73
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We highly recommend this restaurant. Food was well prepared, steaming hot, well priced with more than ample portions. We would go back there in a heart beat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    25
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food nice staff full of locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Easy to find and reasonable cost by local standards! Tasty food and good service would definitely recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hot and spicy thai without chili...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Been there twice - first visit was a nice experience - the second was not.

Ordered the same dish the second time and this green curry was without ANY chili at all. My guest ordered strong red curry and as my dish no chili at all. The waitress did not know the dishes but would ask the chef. She did not not return and while asking a senior waitress about what to expect from dishes marked with two chilies out of two in the menu she turned up with a "Are you still complaining?". After that SHE explained that the place have three different chefs and the did not season the dishes in the same way...

My conclusion is that you have nice thai food here but you can not be sure that hot dishes contains chili all - depending on the chef... And they do not care very much the customers...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Plenty of good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Walking around in KBH we found this Thai at a corner. It looked nice, so we went in. Very good food and the dishes are quite big. We will come back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“A great local Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Ban-Gaw is one of two Thai places on Halmtorvet. A couple of doors down is the Porn Sac (presumably it means something very different in Thai) which we didn't try.

An expat friend recommended the Ban Gaw, and even on a Wednesday evening it was full, with a lively noisy crowd. However, after a short wait we were given a table.

The decor is traditional Thai, with wood carving and panelling.

We ordered a prawn satay starter, mains of masaman beef curry and prawns with rice and all were good.

I would recommend it. Quick service, good food and friendly staff.They even boked up the food we couldn't finish and gave us a huge portion of fresh rice to take out. This made for an unusual breakfast!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ban Gaw also viewed

 

Been to Ban Gaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ban Gaw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.