We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another visit, another brilliant experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altopalato

Altopalato
Duntzfelts Alle 3 | ( Hellerup ), Copenhagen 2900, Denmark
39 61 94 05
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 1,424 restaurants in Copenhagen
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Another visit, another brilliant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Once again, a perfect welcome. Friday night and it's busy, but the atmosphere is alive with conversation and enjoyment. Once again, the menus became redundant when we heard what the degustazioni menu was.. Monkfish, then guinea fowl, followed by a light ravioli with delicious fresh tomato, rack of lamb or veal medallions, a pre-desert of sambucco sorbet, then a delightful cheese cake with fresh raspberries and strawberries.

Every time we come here they impress us with the presentation and delight of the food. The service is timely without being intrusive; attentive and polite.

Remains for us the best restaurant in the Copenhagen area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    15
    12
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful 5 course meal, best value in Copenhagen!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Friendly helpful staff in a cosy and quite restaurant, well decorated. Excellent attentive staff. Our waiter spoke English and Danish (and Italian!). He read out the degustation menu and we were all hooked except for my son who just wanted a big steak. He got it, and my daughter had ravioli, 16 and a bit picky.

The 5 course dinner (420 DKK) was one of the finest I have had in Copenhagen and probably the best value ever. You can keep Noma.. this is fine Italian cuisine at its best. Lemon sole on a scampi sauce, guinea fowl, ravioli (to die for, just beautiful), then veal, then two desserts.

Each dish was beautifully served and very well presented. But the food was just outstanding.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Great Quality and Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Pleasant and cosy, friendly and speedy service and reasonable prices. Limited tables so worth booking.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
935 helpful votes 935 helpful votes
“My warmest recommendation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

The last time a review was written for Altopalato was in March 09, and it was written by my good friend Stig Jaltved, so therefore, I thought it would be appropriate to write a new review, as I have visited Altopalato 4 times since March 09 and the result has been the same each time, perfect.

I always choose the full menu, which you can either read on the blackboard or have described by the waiters in Italian/Danish, which is always charming.

At my last visit, my wife and I had a younger couple sitting next to us, and it was clear that the man wanted to impress his date. The waiter asks if he has decided on a wine, and the man tries his best, and pretends to know something about wine, and orders a Brunello from 2002, which is one of Brunello’s worst vintages ever. The waiter does his best to salvage the situation for the man and recommends a wine that would match the food perfectly and where the vintage is actually drinkable, which the man accepts. When the wine is poured for the couple (it was decanted), they do not like the taste, so the waiter asks whether they would prefer the Brunello 2002 that the man himself had chosen, as he can easily get the chef to drink the wine he had recommended, which the couple would prefer.

Now, that is great service, and without any complaining about how the guests know nothing about wine, and that is what it is like to be a guest at Altopalato. Great food at reasonable prices and with service that is better than what you are accustomed to.

5 stars and my warmest recommendation, because they never have a bad day here.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanport, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“As Good As Anything In Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I toured Italy for ten days with my family in June of 2011, and my dinner at Altopalato in Copenhagen in November was as good as any that I ate in Italy. Each course was better than the next and the dessert was to die for. I recommend this restaurant to anybody who is looking for something extra special.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altopalato also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Altopalato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altopalato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.