We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Wonderful Food, Beautiful People"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of House of Souls

House of Souls
Vestergade 3, Copenhagen 1456, Denmark (Indre By)
33 91 11 81
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #175 of 1,542 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Indre By
Kent
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“"Wonderful Food, Beautiful People"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We went there as a group of 4 and the restaurant was quiet so we did not have any issues with the service. However, if it had been full I can understand that they may have been an issue with speed. Let's face it, the Jamaicans are not renown for their rushing around and the service for us was great. They are very humorous and pleasant staff.

Anyhow, the food was amazing (we had the beef and the jerk chicken) and yes I would go definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    35
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Really unfriendly and slow service. We waited for an hour an a half for average food!!
When we were deciding to order dessert or not they suddenly came with the bill and they gave it to my boyfriend! Rude!
Honestly, the worst waiters that I have seen in a long time... I do not recommend it at all.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious but the service was a joke”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This was probably the strangest service I've ever had. The restaurant was full and there were only two waiters, so just getting someone to come take our order took a fair bit. He couldn't explain any of the dishes and was very irritated that we were asking questions and taking so long. When we then asked for a cocktail list he said no, go downstairs (downstairs was a bar, totally separate) if you want cocktails. We asked for just a drinks menu, he said no, that they only have long drinks and again that we should go downstairs, get cocktails, and bring them up! After then ordering (without his help!) we did then in fact go downstairs a d do just that! A bit ridiculous but he seems to prefer that we do that than that he any way help us. The courses all then took forever to arrive and our total 3 course dining experience took 3 hours, despite having ordered almost straight away.

On the other hand - the food was absolutely great. Really really tasteful and fresh and just delicious. The atmosphere, especially once the restaurant had calmed down and the waiters weren't so stressed and got a bit friendlier (although still a bit odd - their own sort of charm you could say), was very relaxed and although every table in there were obviously also having to wait a very very long time everyone seemed to be having a good time, which made us care less about the service and the wait.

Overall, the food was so good we didn't really care about the rest, but for those prices (and they are hefty, expect to pay 400-500kr per person, although then again that's normal for Copenhagen) you really do expect absolutely everything to be perfect. In the end we actually enjoyed our time here, but you definitely have to go with a relaxed attitude and be prepared to wait!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
1 review
“Great food from jamaica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We had a classic surf and turf and a jambalaya. Great taste and schwung in the jambalaya, great meat and fish perfectly cooked. Average dessert but still a great dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Always very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is one of those places that have had the same menu for many years. Why? Because its great.
Iv been there several times and have tried almost all their main dishes, but keep coming back to the Beef. Reason being, it's good meat and the sauce is to die for

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Souls also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to House of Souls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Souls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.