We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dining and drinking experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Norrebro Bryghus

Norrebro Bryghus
Ryesgade 3, Copenhagen 2200, Denmark (Nørrebro)
3530 0530
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #226 of 1,542 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Nørrebro
London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great dining and drinking experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went for the 3 course menu and 4 course beer menu. All the food was really tasty and good standard. The beers were also v good and nice to try something completely different. The atmosphere was v nice - quite buzzy and the service was very friendly and helpful. It was overall a great experience and would definitely recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    103
    46
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Expensive but very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We visited this restaurant and decided on a three course Al A Carte meal which was absolutely fantastic DKK 325. We also went for the three beer course where they match the beer to your dinner DKK 208. Although it works out very expensive it was a fantastic evening made by the Danish waitress whose training to be a doctor was absolutely brilliant explaining all the courses and the beers how they are made and strengths of beers etc. They give you a complimentary beer named after the restaurant, I then had a New York lager similar to a Samuel Adams, third beer was a kings country brown which was 5.5% and very nice, the last was a norrebro bryghus chocolate beer which was interesting to say the least but a fantastic but expensive night.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“I'm mainly here for the beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Was lucky enough to be staying in a hotel that had two Norrebro brews on draft and another three in bottles, but still thought I'd should make the trip up to the brewhouse on a quiet Tuesday lunchtime in March. Had the three-way smørrebrød which was certainly preferable to the steak/burger fare that the other brewhouses in Copenhagen served up, but nothing to get too excited about. But the beer selection is great and should be the main reason most people will come here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Terrible food, great beer”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We visited the restaurant-part of the establissement and were terribly disappointed by the food, 3-course meal. Starter: Terrine of game, quite boring, could have been made yesterday. Good breat and butter though. Main: Porchetta - disaster. Normally porchetta is a crisp, thinly sliced, nice experience, but this was made totally wrong with one thick (5 cm) slice of uncooked fat/grease and a litte bit of actual meat. The sides (potatoes etc.) were excellent though. Dessert: a dry marzipan-pie with a synthetic caramel-sauce, none home-made I think. The restaurant have only 1 bathroom for all the guests, so there was often a queue. The waiters were nice enough though she didn't know which beers were in the beer tasting menu. We had a beer tasting menu with 4 different kinds of beer, and the were all excellent. Though it seemed they had to get rid of left-overs, since the beer to go to the main and dessert were their special Christmas and New Years-beers, even though I visited the place in January. If I come back I'll visit the bar for a beer, I'll never go in there for food again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Ok beer for an elegant lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Most everything seemed to be closed on new year's eve day, but we found Nørrebro Bryghus open for lunch. I've had a bottle of their brew at home from the Four Firkins and a draft of Julebryg, a Christmas beer, earlier in the week with dinner at RizRaz, a vegetarian buffet.

Nørrbro has clean, industrial chic lines and decor that are elegant and cozy for a brewpub. While there, we saw a range of clientele with a party of kids in the downstairs restaurant and two older couples next to us with beers and shots of vodka (sipped lightly), providing an open, accepting environment even though it feels upscale.
Limited menu with chef choices for the day. The waiter said he would be back when I said I'm a vegetarian who eats fish. They changed the day's smørrebrød menu to match my diet, which was appreciated since Ian had been trying get me this traditional Danish open sandwich on butter rye bread all weekend. However, smørrebrød tends to be heavily laden with meat, so getting a veggie and fish option was fun. For me, the guessed the salmon would be a bit strong for me, so I enjoyed it first. The second was Christmas herring and eggs, which was my second divine encounter with this combination. The final sandwich was potato with tomato, onion, and a white sauce, and it ran a close second to the herring.

Not interested in their lagers and having had the red or Christmas beer already this trip, we ordered the two we hadn't tried yet: Molasses, a stout, and Stjernestund, a Belgian Dubbel. Molasses had a significant molasses and roast flavor, but a thin body for a stout. The Dubbel was vaguely Belgian and dark, but not a beer I'd order again. Overall, Nørrebro Bryghus has an charming atmosphere and an elegant lunch, but the beer was adequate at best.

Pictures at http://pintsizedrevelations.blogspot.com/2013/01/nrrebro-bryghus-copenhagen-dk.html.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norrebro Bryghus also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Norrebro Bryghus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norrebro Bryghus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.