We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and atmosphere, but expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Norrebro Bryghus

Norrebro Bryghus
Ryesgade 3, Copenhagen 2200, Denmark (Nørrebro)
3530 0530
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #219 of 1,545 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Cuisines: European, Danish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Nørrebro
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere, but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I went here for dinner with a Danish friend, who seemed to love the design of the space as much as anything else (it is gorgeous, a sleek industrial vibe). We were there early and decided to have the early dinner menu in the upstairs restaurant, 350kr for three courses with matched beer, if you finish by 7.30; there is also a la carte, an anytime three course menu, and the five course menu which was 500kr including beer (or 600 with large beers) so it's quite an expensive place, even for Copenhagen. The food was very good, the gravlax and cauliflower starter was excellent, as was a flavourful and robust beef stew with beer and mashed root vegetables. The dessert of pannacotta was good, but to my taste not as good as the first two. I'm not a beer drinker, but my friend was impressed by the beer, and we were both impressed by the outstanding service and the detailed explanations the waitress gave us about the beers - in English, for my benefit. While we were there, we saw a group of people having beer tasting and a lecture (in Danish) down by the vats of beer, and they seemed to be enjoying themselves a great deal - something to check out if you speak Danish! I would certainly think about returning, with people who I knew would appreciate the atmosphere, the beer, and the good food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    96
    43
    16
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“3 course Early Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

So good!! We had the 3 course early dinner - which was a starter, main dish, and dessert paired with the recommended beer, and it was excellent! (But to get the special price - 400kr for 3 courses incl beer - you have to be out of the resturant by 7:30pm) There's no kids menu, but our kids loved the chicken and the salmon off the starters menu. It's expensive, but also not your typical brew pub experience. Service was also great! Would go back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Very Cool Microbrewery, Great range of beers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We visited Norrebro Bryghus yesterday, escaping a cold and windy autumn day in Copenhagen.

The cafe downstairs is very cute and cosy with a view of the tanks used to make the beers. We were impressed by their beer menu - there was a fantastic range, and a lot of work had gone into giving helpful tasting notes. It is definitely a place to go to sample various different beers, and taste the difference. They clearly pride themselves on the range and quality of their product.

We had the Chef's Recommendation for lunch, which was a set of three smorrebrod (danish open sandwiches) with toppings chosen by the chef. The deal came with a large beer (any variety) and some danish snaps, all for 199DKK (pretty good value for lunch and a couple of drinks, taking into account Copenhagen prices!).

The service was good - the waitress was very sweet, but she did forget our wifi codes, and also forgot that the lunch deal came with beer and snaps (we had to specifically ask for both).

The place was fairly quiet when we arrived (about 3pm) but by the time we left it was pumping (just after 5pm) so it is clearly a popular spot with the locals.

While we didn't exactly have a massive lunch, it was a value lunch and very tasty. The beers are worth a visit on their own!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beer and food lovers must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Brewery and restaurant in the same place. You can sip your delicate beer, which they overhjelming selectiopn for a couple of visits, while their brewmaster works accross the with the next brew. Food was excellent and it is designed to fit the beer! Skol!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food, drinks and reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is cozy, great food, great beer and prices are okay for what you get. I love this place and would visit more often if I had the money for it :)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norrebro Bryghus also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Norrebro Bryghus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norrebro Bryghus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.