We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Considered best exotic japanese food in the world” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Umami

Umami
59 Store Kongensgade | 1264 København K, Copenhagen, Denmark (Indre By)
3338 7500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #156 of 1,542 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Indre By
Description: A Japanese Restaurant with a French accent, Umami is of one of the most visually striking restaurants Copenhagen has ever seen. inspiration comes from Jesper Boelskifte, who dreamed of opening an Asian restaurant in Copenhagen, which stimulates all five senses simultaneously. But there's a sixth sense, which Umami explores. In terms of the cuisine, the intention was to be on par with Robert de Niro’s Nobu restaurant in New York. And the design would be in the same class as Morimoto in Philadelphia. Jesper’s dream became a reality with UMAMI, located on a prestigious street in the heart of Denmark’s capital.Visually, perhaps the most compelling element is a sculptural curtain with color-changing lights. A mood- generating concept which matched the vision of Jesper, who wanted to woo guests into a relaxed state of tranquility.The sculptural curtain and décor concept was developed by Orbit Design Company in London, whose client roster includes high profile brands such as Louis Vuitton, among others. Orbit was responsible for the interior design as well as the furniture, which was custom-made for UMAMI.The previous tenant was a bank, the remnants of which remain in the iconic metal door to a vault downstairs, which still has a security device.In the basement at UBAR, customers can choose from an extensive array of upscale cocktails. From lemon grass infused saké to a variety of martinis to Kirin beer. While seated at the elongated bar, a DJ serves equally delicious lounge and jazz music.Customers can go directly upstairs to any of the seats at the sushi bar with a front row centre view of the sushi chef in the open kitchen. Continuing upstairs to the first floor, there’s an extensive space able to accommodate 120 guests, immersed in a total, all encompassing experience. Enjoying the utmost in professionalism.
Montes Claros, MG
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Considered best exotic japanese food in the world”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was there after I have heard this is the most exotic sushi food in the world. It was really nice restaurant, and tasteful food, and I could even take a picture with the best sushiman in the world there! Price is a little higher than a good japanese restaurant in Copenhagen (ex: Sticks & Sushi), and most of the food in the menu are cooked. I prefer fresh japanese food. A large variety of drinks (wines and champagne) is available, and for sure the most expensive ones are there. There is also a bottle of champagne for 29.000 DKK... But, if you have not money for that, do not worry (!!!): there are lots of normal options there. Service is ok (not the best one). Nice toilet - one of the nicest ones I have seen in restaurants...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    95
    31
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
“Bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We recently went to Umami with our young daughter. While interested in the six course menu, we figured out that a six course menu would be too long for a young child and instead ordered selected dishes from the menu list. The service was long and at the beginning of the meal, we were suprised to receive a dish that we did not ordered. We thought that it could represent an amuse-bouche, although relatively large. After a long wait, we were than suprised to receive other dishes that we had not ordered. It turned out that the waitress had understood that we had ordered two six courses menu as well as as many dishes from the menu list (- these dishes from the menu list would have been largely enough for 2 people and a child-.). Intstead of getting any apologies from the waitress, we needed to pay for everything including the food that we had not ordered. Moreover, the attitude of the waitress was haughtly, rude, almost impolite and spiteful.
The quality of the food was good, but certainly not worth the price you pay for it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent high-end Asian dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great food of the best quality. Top-notch service and ambiance. Maybe not perfect "sound-quality", the room tended to not cancel out talking from side tables, so it gets a bit loud.

Well worth the visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Super Japanese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Had a great evening with 6 colleagues after a long day. We had the tasting menu, which offerede us some absolutely delicious creative japanese dishes including wagyu beef. The waiter was splendid and gave really good advise on wines and sake.

Only downside was the bar. It was too fancy for my taste and the service excruciatingly slow.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Overhyped and overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I went to eat at Umami yesterday. My expectations were quite high as according to the local Danish press, the restaurant had won an international competition in Tokyo not so long ago and was elected as the best sushi place in the world. Hence great was my curiosity as I go quite regularlty to Japan and know quite a lot of excellent sushi restaurants there.
Let me start with the food. Not bad but definitely nothing exciting. Just above average. I give it a 3 star rating which with some goodwill I could upgrade to 3.5 stars but I won't do that because of the rather poor service. At none of the dishes, I had the excitement of eating something divine as one often gets when one know to pick out one of the superb sushi restaurants in Tokyo. The sashimi they served was even uninteresting and a far cry of the excellent sashimi they will serve you in Tokyo. The restaurant is quite noisy and the service is below what you would expect, considering the price. Too long waiting times between the dishes and quite confusing. We thought we had finished after they has served the sushi rolls and we thought we were going to get home hungry. But while we were kind of getting prepared to get ready to go, they all of a sudden showed up with an extra meat dish. The most positive of the evening was that the waitresses were quite good looking. How could this restaurant possibly have been selected as the best sushi place in the world? The Japanese must have been on strike that day.

rk

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umami also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Umami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.