We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night in the museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soren K

Soren K
Soren Kierkegaards Plads 1, Copenhagen 1221, Denmark
33474949
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #139 of 1,545 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A night in the museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Arrived for an 8:30 pm and walked through the deserted library areas to find the restaurant which was quite busy but not as full as we expected and soon began to empty. On our trip to Copenhagen we found that we were usually the last diners if we booked between 8-9pm so perhaps eating early is the answer or perhaps it was just the time of year.

Once in the restaurant however we were welcomed and served by a well informed waiter who guided us through the menu and wines. The meal was very good although we were unable to recall exactly what we had for our first course! The main course was an excellent fillet of veal followed by a selection of Scandinavian cheeses and petit fours.

The location of the restaurant is waterside but at this time of the year not a lot was going on and the view at night time is limited. In winter perhaps a lunch time visit may be better when there may be more going on.

A visit to the toilets was again through the deserted library area eerily reminiscent of the film A Night in the Museum!

The area around the restaurant was deserted but a taxi was called by the restaurant to take us back to our hotel

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    38
    11
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
copenhagen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

good food, nice place, very popular, located in royal library, participate in the copenhagen cooking festival, nice view to harbour and nye opera, difficult parking but local bus close by,

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We discovered Soren K in the Black Diamond in Copenhagen on a cold, rainy day, and decided to stop by for a glass of bubbly and a small dish. Noticing that the restaurant is Michelin-recommended and in 2001 made the Conde Nast Travelers top 100 restaurants off the world, we decided to stop by. It was in the middle of the afternoon, so very quiet. Great view of the old customs buildings across the water. The wait staff was friendly and professional, and we bombarded them with quite a few questions. The champagne was one of the best I had in a while (Cumieres Oscar Laval), and both the Fine de Claire oysters, and the mousse of duck liver with parsley root, apple and malt were outstanding! I would love to come back and sample more of their menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPH
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Cool place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Soren K, is located excellent in the royal library, The Black Diamond, down by the large canal.

The quality of the food was very high and wines as well. It was part of the Copenhagen Dining week, therefore I cannot say anything about the ordinary evening menu. But they have Bib Gourmand and I have earlier been here at lunch which were a very nice experience as well. So I am sure it is well deserved.

Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food but cool in the wrong way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We went here expecting a great meal for our 30th wedding anniversary. OK it was a late November Monday night so we expected the place to be quiet, and it was. So, there's no excuse for what happened with the mains. The starters were great. I went for a trio of starters with a glass of champagne, which were all good. Helen went for smoked salmon with a schnapps marinade which was also great.
But the main courses - both of which would have actually been excellent - were served very luke warm on cool plates. This being our wedding anniversary I didn't want to make a fuss, so gently pointed this out to the waitress. She was apologetic but not exactly effusive but to be fair did offer it bring fresh dishes. But at this standard and price, and when there were only four tables occupied, the fault should never have happened in the first place. I declined and expected maybe they'd offer a gesture to compensate. They did - we could have free coffees 'and maybe a Cognac'!. Have to day this annoyed me so much I didn't bother with either as I just wanted out.
Overall, food good if they can get the basics right. The setting's a bit corporate, with views to office blocks across the water. Had the other places I fancied in the centre been open (closed on Mondays) I'd have gone there & am pretty sure we'd have had a better and more atmospheric meal - and maybe even hot food. At £110 for two courses each, and and a so-so bottle of wine, over priced on the night even by Danish standards.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soren K also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Soren K? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soren K, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.