We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Rebel

Restaurant Rebel
52 Store Kongensgade, Copenhagen DK-1264, Denmark (Formerly Restaurant Rasmus Oubaek) (Indre By)
+45 33 32 32 09
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #361 of 1,424 restaurants in Copenhagen
Price range: $46 - $78
Cuisines: French, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Indre By
Description: Long anecdotes on the unique origins of the ingredients. An endless song on the almost human features of the wine. Waiters that linger near you pretending to be a close friend. That is how it has become on most of the city’s finer restaurants. But not here. We really appreciate you being here. And we are looking forward to serve you delicious food and good wine. But otherwise we’ll give you peace and quiet, so you can relax and enjoy your meal. Don’t misunderstand us - you are more than welcome to ask if you want to know more about the food or the wine. We just don’t want to ruin your meal by stuffing nonsense down your throat.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Casual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Very casual restaurant but with very tasty food, fresh and well made. Small dishes, no 3 course meal, choose 2-3 dishes or perhaps the Rebel night with 7 serving and wine menu.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    6
    11
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Visually impressive but tries too hard. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Visited on business and we were squashed in our seats as they didn't have space it seemed for our booking. Food was stunning to look at at but off food combinations want it missed the wow factor on taste. Nice experience but wouldn't rush back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestaurantRebel, Chef  at Restaurant Rebel, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Hi Sarah
I am glad to receive your criticism - we are always interested in customer feedback good and bad as it helps us becomming even better and sharper.

I am sorry you feel like you had a less impressive evening - in general our feedback is very positive therefor I'm very interested in what date you were here so i can try to analyse any irregularities on the given day.

Please feel free to elaborate on the dishes that didn't appeal your palet.

The restaurant is small and the tables are quite tight - this is part of the experiense and it helps give the ambience we are aming to create - however you oppinion is duly noted.
In your oppinion what would you have changed to accommodate your demand ?

I realize you have written "you wouldn't rush back" however I urge you to rebel and next time you get the occation to visit Copenhagen let prove your experience wrong:)

Best Regards
Lars Petersen
Owner/Headchef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gourmét in Copenhagen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I ate at this restaurant with 12 colleagues. The food was absolutely perfect. The complexity in the flavours and the quality of the ingredients make this restaurant one of the better I've eaten at. We all had th four course meal, and we ate different things - but all of us were extremely satisfied with the dishes, wine and service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food - Slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is a gastronomy gem not yet fully in blossom. The food was excellent, but the portions are small. The idea is that the guest shall share, but the servings are too small for two. Nice concept which has room for improvement. The calf- sweetbread and foie gras was an outstanding dish, unfortunately too small to share.The service is slow, and needs improvement.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestaurantRebel, Owner at Restaurant Rebel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your review.....

I just want to clarify as it seems you may have misunderstood the concept:)

Portions are small and we recomend three courses - however they are not ment to be shared....you can if you want to....but this is not something we recomend or advertize.

Best Regards

Lars Petersen
Restaurant Rebel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Big disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Service and atmosphere was really good, but the service drooped during the dinner when more guests arrived to the restaurant.

The menu was modern and was appealing with a nice choice of fresh ingredients but did not meet our expectations at all. The palette of flavor did not work for the dishes and some of the food was poor quality (scallops and lobster).

Too expensive and overall a disappointment (even with a lower price the food had not be acceptable).

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestaurantRebel, Owner at Restaurant Rebel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your review.....

I am very sorry that you feel you had a bad experience at rebel.

I do not quite understand what you feel when you say that the produce are poor our lobster were cook the same day and the scallops were cured 2 days in advance....

However I would like to compensate you with at new try at rebel should you feel up for it.- to show you that this is not a normal experience at Rebel... Our usual feedback from our guests is an opposing one to the one you gave us and we would like to rectify your bad experience.

Please write me (Lars) back at our restaurant email

info@restaurantrebel.dk

Best Regards

Lars Petersen
Restaurant Rebel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Rebel also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Restaurant Rebel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Rebel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.